ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
fusionarts
Expert
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:44 pm

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by fusionarts » Mon Jan 14, 2013 12:53 pm

Anthony Alves wrote:
fusionarts wrote:****Question about Fab Filter Pro-G filter?****
I posted this in the general forum, but have yet to get a response. I'm hoping I'll have better luck in here :).

I've bought all the other Fab Filter plugs, (Pro-C, L, Q, & DS, Timless 2), but am debating on whether or not to buy the Pro-G. Is it any better/different then the one provided by PSP included with Auria?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
If you go to FabFilter.com and touch on video and see the full featured demo of the ProG by Dan Worral. After you see what it can do you'll likely buy it as I did. Actually if you can afford it buy them all there worth so so much more.
Cheers.
PS. I love this plugin as you can tell.
I went ahead, and bought the Pro-G. I love being able to visualize what's happening in the mix in real-time. Thanks for the advice Anthony.
Last edited by fusionarts on Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
"In cordibus nostris Iesus in aeternum vivat"
“L i v e J e s u s i n o u r h e a r t s, f o r e v e r”
-----------------------------------------------------------
iPad Pro - 128GB - iOS 9.3 - Auria Pro

User avatar
Anthony Alves
Expert
Posts: 1203
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:52 am

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by Anthony Alves » Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:12 pm

No problem. That is the advantage of these plugins. Its nice to not only hear whats going on but to actually see the proccessing is really helpful in speeding up a mix and getting a proper setting. Glad your enjoying your new plugins as I am too.
Cheers bro,
~~_/)~~~

User avatar
Anthony Alves
Expert
Posts: 1203
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:52 am

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by Anthony Alves » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:02 pm

As more experienced mixers and Artists I feel there is a need for us to help the staring mixer, producer and recording artist. I created Ask The Expert not only for nrewcomers to ask someone more seasoned in the world of DAW Recording advice, but also to give advice if the Experts notice a problem trend in the forum to leave some useful tips. I have noticed one critical area of a problem that keeps coming up in the forum and shows itself in many different forms but is still the same basic problem. That problem is Auria is more powerful than the iPad. Most of us got Auria because it seems to be a really cool, affordable, professional Daw for your ipad so why not use it like your MacPro with ProTools and so we purchased Auria for that reason. Now Im assuming we all understand that when you ask an iPad to perform like a $2500 mac and $1500 software ( with plugins from Fabfilter ) like ProTools, its not gonna happen but were really close and that is amazing and only thanks to the Wavemachine team of Devs that this miracle happened. Recording and Mastering on the iPad using Auria does work but will it give you the ram freedom or cpu freedom like your MacPro, No. Auria was developed at the time of the iPad 2 and at the time there were people who claimed it was impossible. Just go to the comments in youtube of the Namm show 2012 to see how many skeptics there were. But not one year later were now at an iPad 4 with possibly a 5 coming within week. Auria was truly ahead of its time but now the iPad has come within Auria thirst for power. However users still insist on more features, each requiring more power from the iPad. We know these developers can go all out and give us everything but there is a drawback to that as it makes the whole experience slow down giving us the feeling that were spending more time dealing with crashes and problems than creating good music. So its important that Auria users keep this in mind when pushing for more and more from their iPad. So how do we get around this, well likw a MacPro ProTools user does, you keep things under control. Its great to see all those pretty lights in your plugins goung off but thats not the bottom line. A great mix is what we are looking for and the fact that there is pretty lights is just a bonus. Its too easy to just star plugging FX in to see what it does to you music and if thats how you create well then great, but the best way for most artists who record acoustic, sampled, choir, live bands, duos and singles is to try to achieve your end result right from the start. Invision your mix and the mastered version already in your head. This will give you immediate direction and often you use less FX because you went for the sound you wanted from the start. If your particular iPad model needs special attention to memory and drive management then you must incorporate this into your mixing plans as well as mastering plans. Many ProTools users route the track being recorded and its FX to another track that records this. So you end up with a printed track that includes the FX. Why is this important? Because we add the FX to see if the project is headed in the direction we had in mind so we want that track to sound like its finished durring the recording process or mixdown. This is were you want to print the FX version and remove the plugins used to create the FX, delete the region and import you FX track back in tand your now listening to the FX'd track without using any plugin and your original unaffected track is still on file to bring up at anytime to add new or different FX. Its best to apply your plugins lightly so you dont overwhelm your mix with FX as the track count increases. So your probably saying how is this different than just simply freezing my tracks and why is this guy Anthony still talking? Well because this is a serious topic and will solve many problems Auria users especially iPad 2/3 users. When you Freeze a track in Auria the plugins are right there ready and waiting to be re-installed as soon as you unfreeze the track. Why is this a problem? Well if you go too far and apply one more plugin that The iPad cant handle it will close Auria. Now when you go to open the same project, the kind and the thoughtful Auria wants to take you back to where you left off but that again causes the iPad to shut down never allowing you to return. Access to this project is gone forever.ba souloution would be that Auria wouldnt allow the last plugin commant to take olace or returns the project back to atime when it wasnt crashing but thats not easy to impliment onto an app. Are you seing the connection now why you should peint your FX if you are going to use them during tracking. As well make a written note in your notepad the individual % that each plugin uses when all of the plugins features are activated. This gives you a reference that you can check on if your about to lay another plugin and the cpu meter says youve got 60% left but about to apply a ProDS oversampled that takes %59 leading to a possible crash that you may not be able to recover. Try to get your mixes right and the sound you want from the start. Use your plugins sparingly and make the most of each setting since sometimes we tend to leave the plugin too early and that further tweaking may have fixed the problem with just that one plugin.
We have almost everything in Auria thats needed tp produce great masters and with care and patience and most importantly an organized and informed worlflow, we can complete those projects with less stress and more creativity.

Phil999
Expert
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by Phil999 » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:27 pm

good advice. Some time ago I've been doing tracking and mixing on a netbook (1.6 GHz Atom CPU, 1 GB RAM) when I was not at home, with resource-hungry plugins (Samplemodeling) and about 15 tracks. You learn very quickly to bounce a recording once it's correct, to make 'room' for the next take. Leaving all MIDI intact (like in your example the unprocessed raw audio tracks) so that nothing gets lost.

With the iPad it's exactly the same. It's no problem to overload the iPad, even the latest model, if you stack plugins like on a regular DAW. You have to be clever to use the CPU and memory, but doing so it is possible to create surprisingly complex mixes. You may use all insert slots for a particular track, but empty them after a bounce. With this procedure you really have an equivalent to a regular DAW.

User avatar
Anthony Alves
Expert
Posts: 1203
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:52 am

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by Anthony Alves » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:49 pm

Phil999 wrote:good advice. Some time ago I've been doing tracking and mixing on a netbook (1.6 GHz Atom CPU, 1 GB RAM) when I was not at home, with resource-hungry plugins (Samplemodeling) and about 15 tracks. You learn very quickly to bounce a recording once it's correct, to make 'room' for the next take. Leaving all MIDI intact (like in your example the unprocessed raw audio tracks) so that nothing gets lost.

With the iPad it's exactly the same. It's no problem to overload the iPad, even the latest model, if you stack plugins like on a regular DAW. You have to be clever to use the CPU and memory, but doing so it is possible to create surprisingly complex mixes. You may use all insert slots for a particular track, but empty them after a bounce. With this procedure you really have an equivalent to a regular DAW.
Finally Ive started a real conversation that is going to help so many new Auria users and Im so glad people like yourself are willing to share those past experiences with us all. How wonderful it is to get a dialog thats real and to the point. Thanks Phil and please guve tips and recording experiences to everyone in here. Good on ya mate. Cheers.

~~_/)~~~

Phil999
Expert
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by Phil999 » Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:18 pm

indeed it is a pleasure, for me as well. But I'm active in several audio forums, and rarely really get the feeling my contributions do serve the purpose; there are principles in engineering, but no rules actually. For example, I dislike it when people just throw a multiband compressor on the master and say it's a finished mix. Or mastered. :?:

It's the result that counts. If it sounds right, it's good. Maybe it was done with a multiband compressor thrown at the master track. :) I just don't work that way, because I never had such tools available when I started mixing. It was really hard, you needed four or five hands at the console when you only got two. Now we have automation, great plugins, real-time processing power. You name it.

I'm very unsure in this matter. I work the old-fashioned way despite MIDI, OSC, automation, and modern plugins/DAW's. I also use tape. :roll: I can't change my habits that proved efficient in the earlier days. But as I see top producers advocating the modern workflow (even ITB), I must admit it may be the new way of doing mixes. Emulate expensive hardware, tweak some parameters, and you got that Phil Spencer mix in stereo.

Recently I watched a comedy, Josie And The Pussycats, and there was a machine that rendered the quick recording into a radio-compatible final mix with the turn of a few knobs. It's a comedy and persiflage of today's music industry, but not too far away from the current practice.

Washboy
Expert
Posts: 926
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:55 am
Location: London, UK

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by Washboy » Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:25 pm

Anthony Alves wrote:This is were you want to print the FX version and remove the plugins used to create the FX, delete the region and import you FX track back in tand your now listening to the FX'd track without using any plugin and your original unaffected track is still on file to bring up at anytime to add new or different FX.
Is there not a danger that Auria's garbage collector will delete the original data because it's no longer in use?
When you Freeze a track in Auria the plugins are right there ready and waiting to be re-installed as soon as you unfreeze the track.
Perhaps what's needed is for Auria to unload plugins from frozen tracks, while remembering all the settings, so that the plugins can be reloaded and returned to their settings, if the track is unfrozen. Hang on! - isn't that what Auria does already?

User avatar
Anthony Alves
Expert
Posts: 1203
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:52 am

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by Anthony Alves » Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:56 pm

Washboy wrote:
Anthony Alves wrote:This is were you want to print the FX version and remove the plugins used to create the FX, delete the region and import you FX track back in tand your now listening to the FX'd track without using any plugin and your original unaffected track is still on file to bring up at anytime to add new or different FX.
Is there not a danger that Auria's garbage collector will delete the original data because it's no longer in use?
When you Freeze a track in Auria the plugins are right there ready and waiting to be re-installed as soon as you unfreeze the track.
Perhaps what's needed is for Auria to unload plugins from frozen tracks, while remembering all the settings, so that the plugins can be reloaded and returned to their settings, if the track is unfrozen. Hang on! - isn't that what Auria does already?
Yes thats exactly what Auria does and its because of this feature that some are applying too many plugins, Auria crashes then wont open because it wants to load the last remembered presets which in turn causes the crash again. I have mrntioned to Rim the danger of Auria deleting tracks or regions from my projects on its own is very dangerous espesially if Auria crashes. For this reason I have asked that we be allowed to delete whatever we wish and nit Auria except for a warning telling me Im about to delete a file and am I sure I want to do that giving me one last chance to rethink the process. This is how PC and Mac Daw work.
Thanks for your input on the subject and very good suggestions. Cheers.
~~_/)~~~

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7848
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by Rim » Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:25 pm

In 1.06, I introduce a snapshot system, which will really help in situations like this. A snapshot only takes a second to create, and gives a peace of mind if you want to try other things.

Rim

User avatar
Anthony Alves
Expert
Posts: 1203
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:52 am

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by Anthony Alves » Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:37 am

Rim wrote:In 1.06, I introduce a snapshot system, which will really help in situations like this. A snapshot only takes a second to create, and gives a peace of mind if you want to try other things.

Rim
Very cool Rim. Thaank you.

1927Gibson
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:35 pm

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by 1927Gibson » Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:54 pm

The recording aspect of Auria works fine. Very impressive. However.... Will there ever be a way to simply email a project without going through Soundcloud, or some other series of hoops. This is truly an obstacle to everyday mainstream people that have real full time jobs, but aren't going to spend all of their time trying to juggle files. For the end-users who don't mind doing this.. great....but for the developers of the app who are trying to profit from it and expand business.. make it more user friendly. Business 101

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7848
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by Rim » Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:17 am

Most users find SoundCloud to be much easier than email, and a more reliable way to transfer large files. Not sure if you looked into it (accounts are free at soundCloud). When you upload, you can chose whether to make the file private or public. In any case, yes, simple email is on our list to add as a mixdown option as well.

Rim

drock
Expert
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:11 pm

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by drock » Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:23 pm

So, this is off topic but I plan to send out each track of my album to a mastering house for the biggest reason of - the songs are being written to seamlessly go into one another (think iTunes 'gapless album') because I just dont think that it'd be possible in auria to set that up. I assume certain software used on an actual computer by a pro would be able to accomplish this during the mastering process. A good example of this would be Pink Floyds "Dark Side Of The Moon". Sorry if this is off topic but thanks!

Jus
Expert
Posts: 424
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:34 am

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by Jus » Mon Jan 21, 2013 3:11 pm

Hi people
Can someone just confirm for me please when recording using a bigger buffer size

Does it just effect the latency / cpu and not the quality of the recording Input signal recorded

Cheers 8)

User avatar
Anthony Alves
Expert
Posts: 1203
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:52 am

Re: ASK THE RECORDING EXPERTS

Post by Anthony Alves » Mon Jan 21, 2013 4:03 pm

Jus wrote:Hi people
Can someone just confirm for me please when recording using a bigger buffer size

Does it just effect the latency / cpu and not the quality of the recording Input signal recorded

Cheers 8)
Hi, no the audio is not affected so the quality remains the same. You just get more latency and that could affect your performance like singing but that's about it and it's less taxing on the cpu.
Cheers.
~~_/)~~~

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 3 guests