feature suggestion - region volume short cut

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
User avatar
mtingle
Expert
Posts: 1004
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

feature suggestion - region volume short cut

Post by mtingle » Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:07 am

to change the volume of a region (something that is done extremely frequently for me at least) it involves zooming to a sufficient level to make the volume adjust area visible for a clip. after adjusting the volume you then have to zoom back out to where you where before. That starts to be a lot of zooming in and out during the mixing phase of a song!

How about when you select a clip and it shows the volume in the info display panel, your able to touch that value in the info panel window and then drag to left and right to make the region clip volume go up and down. Or, if your finger gets in the way of seeing the volume value, a horizontal slider could appear underneath the volume upon touching the value so you could move the slider to change the volume and so enabling you to see the volume value at the same time.

This handy short cut would streamline work flow quite a bit.

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7945
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: feature suggestion - region volume short cut

Post by Rim » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:46 pm

Thanks, good idea.

RIm

User avatar
mtingle
Expert
Posts: 1004
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: feature suggestion - region volume short cut

Post by mtingle » Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:13 am

Ah glad you like that idea.

If the info panel slider turned out to be the main way people used to change a regions volume, there's a potential useful added functional bonus to doing this involving moving regions.

Currently pressing a region to get it into the move mode (red outline) is a bit hit and miss as there are many factors that decide whether its going to engage the region length or volume and this can require quite a bit of additional pinching and zooming till you can avoid any of these handles (especially on small regions).

If you move the region volume to the info panel it could free up the need for the volume icon on each region. That would mean if you press and hold a region it would always go into move mode (red outline) unless the region length handles are visible in which case the appropriate handle is engaged.

That would make editing regions much cleaner.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 6 guests