Unfreezing not bringing back AU

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
Ecou
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 7:33 pm

Unfreezing not bringing back AU

Post by Ecou » Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:43 pm

Hello,

I have a bass line track frozen. When I unfroze it, both Auv3 were not brought back. Thy were Tonebridge and Toneboosters eq.

Is that normal behaviour? If so it very un useful because now all my settings are lost.

Thank

E.
Last edited by Ecou on Tue Dec 31, 2019 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Espiegel123
Expert
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:56 pm

Re: Unfreezing not bringing back AU

Post by Espiegel123 » Mon Dec 30, 2019 2:36 pm

Ecou wrote:
Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:43 pm
Hello,

I have a base line track frozen. When I unfroze it, both Auv3 were not brought back. Thy were Tonebridge and Toneboosters eq.

Is that normal behaviour? If so it very un useful because now all my settings are lost.

Thank

E.
Corey and RIM:

I just tested this with Moog Model 15 and Toneboosters EQ (though I guess it probably doesn't matter what plugins you use). When Unfreezing, the AUv3 slots are all empty. Neither the plugin nor its state was preserved.

If you need details, let me know. But I think all you have to do is choose an AUv3 synth for a a midi track (and optionally AUv3 plugins on the channel strip to process the audio), record some midi, freeze the track and then later unfreeze it.

Espiegel123
Expert
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:56 pm

Re: Unfreezing not bringing back AU

Post by Espiegel123 » Mon Dec 30, 2019 5:28 pm

By the way, to make things more confusing, sometimes after unfreezing, one sees the AU’s name as if it has been restored, but if you tap to pop up the AU selection menu NONE is the ite, selected.

Espiegel123
Expert
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:56 pm

Re: Unfreezing not bringing back AU

Post by Espiegel123 » Mon Dec 30, 2019 5:33 pm

Another data point, the synth assignment for IAA synths is remembered but not AU synths. In both cases, effects are not restored.

This seems like a pretty serious issue.

Ecou
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Unfreezing not bringing back AU

Post by Ecou » Mon Dec 30, 2019 5:54 pm

Thank you Espiegel123 for testing. I hope this can get resolved quick. I froze 12 tracks thinking I could unfreeze them later down. This is gonna complicate my life if I have to redo everything.

Ecou
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Unfreezing not bringing back AU

Post by Ecou » Tue Dec 31, 2019 9:40 am

.

Espiegel123
Expert
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:56 pm

Re: Unfreezing not bringing back AU

Post by Espiegel123 » Tue Dec 31, 2019 2:01 pm

Ecou wrote:
Mon Dec 30, 2019 5:54 pm
Thank you Espiegel123 for testing. I hope this can get resolved quick. I froze 12 tracks thinking I could unfreeze them later down. This is gonna complicate my life if I have to redo everything.


RIM or Corey W: do you know if the problem unfreezing tracks is that it isn't restoring information that is there or is freezing failing to save the information required to restore the plugin state after unfreezing?

I have a track that I am building and was planning on using freezing to allow me to lay down more synth tracks -- but now I am hesitant to do that.

Ecou
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Unfreezing not bringing back AU

Post by Ecou » Tue Dec 31, 2019 2:39 pm

Espiegel123 wrote:
Tue Dec 31, 2019 2:01 pm
Ecou wrote:
Mon Dec 30, 2019 5:54 pm
Thank you Espiegel123 for testing. I hope this can get resolved quick. I froze 12 tracks thinking I could unfreeze them later down. This is gonna complicate my life if I have to redo everything.


RIM or Corey W: do you know if the problem unfreezing tracks is that it isn't restoring information that is there or is freezing failing to save the information required to restore the plugin state after unfreezing?

I have a track that I am building and was planning on using freezing to allow me to lay down more synth tracks -- but now I am hesitant to do that.


We are going to have to saint for the egg nog to be finished before getting a response :lol: :lol:

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8376
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Unfreezing not bringing back AU

Post by Rim » Tue Dec 31, 2019 5:36 pm

Hi all,

I'm aware of this issue, and was able to duplicate it here. It'll be fixed in the update I'm working on now.

Rim

Ecou
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Unfreezing not bringing back AU

Post by Ecou » Sat Jan 04, 2020 9:50 am

Thank you Rim for taking care of this issue.

Do you know if the fix will let us unfreeze currently frozen track or the data is lost and only track frozen after the update will be unfrozable properly?

I am working on mixing a 12 track album for planification sake can we expect the update in January or later?

Thank you

E.

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8376
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Unfreezing not bringing back AU

Post by Rim » Mon Jan 06, 2020 11:06 am

The issue was in the saving, not in the restoring. So the new update won't be able to fix existing tracks that were frozen, because there's no data there to restore. Sorry about that.

Rim

Ecou
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Unfreezing not bringing back AU

Post by Ecou » Mon Jan 06, 2020 4:58 pm

Ok at least I know i need to redo everything.

If any body as the same problem, I went to older snapshot and made presets for in each Auv3. Don’t forget to snapshot your current version first. Lesson in learn is snapshot often. Can I delete snapshot ?

Also does anybody know if there is a bug list so I can avoid such problem in future?

E.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Anthony Alves and 8 guests