MIDI issues

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Skippy567
Expert
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2015 8:23 pm

MIDI issues

Post by Skippy567 » Tue Dec 29, 2015 6:09 pm

I am using Auria pro on an iPad pro. When I use sunrizer and record midi notes, the info doesn't reload when I reopen the song later. Is there a way to save the patches so they automatically load every time I reopen?

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8388
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: MIDI issues

Post by Rim » Wed Dec 30, 2015 6:35 am

Unfortunately this is a major limitation with Apple's IAA system. IAAs have no mechanism for storing presets, handling automation or remembering parameters. When AU becomes commonplace, this should all get solved.

Rim

Skippy567
Expert
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2015 8:23 pm

Re: MIDI issues

Post by Skippy567 » Wed Dec 30, 2015 8:42 am

Can I record the finished midi to audio to 'save' the preset? I realize there would be no going back at that point to edit but if I could how do you do that?

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8388
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: MIDI issues

Post by Rim » Wed Dec 30, 2015 9:14 am

Definitely. In Auria Pro, there's a function called "Bounce Track In Place". You just select the track first (click on the track header in the edit window), then go to Process and choose Bounce Track In Place. This turns your MIDI track into a bounced audio track.

Rim

BennieTonini
Expert
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 6:47 am

Re: MIDI issues

Post by BennieTonini » Thu Dec 31, 2015 9:01 pm

Hello friendly Pro users,

I tried to bounce MIDI in place with a synth called Z3TA+ but now I don't see any waveform. The sound is still there.

Why is this?

:mrgreen:

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8388
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: MIDI issues

Post by Rim » Fri Jan 01, 2016 7:05 am

Can you tell me exactly how you did this? Did you select the track itself (not the region)? After the progress message went away, was Z3TA+ automatically removed from the insert slot? Can you try it again in a new project, to see if this is a unique issue with your project?

Rim

Skippy567
Expert
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2015 8:23 pm

Re: MIDI issues

Post by Skippy567 » Fri Jan 01, 2016 12:12 pm

I am unbelievably frustrated. Hours on a project. Recorded a track through audiobus with sample tank. Closed down project and came back later and the sound had changed. It's happened before. So I try to go back to sample tank to change the sound and it says there is a problem and I can't get back. So desperate I try to open another midi track to start over and crashes every time. I finally get into a new project and go to snapshots and won't let me even pull up the snapshot. Please please please tell me I can get this song back. Please

Skippy567
Expert
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2015 8:23 pm

Re: MIDI issues

Post by Skippy567 » Fri Jan 01, 2016 1:10 pm

Should I or is there a way I should be saving my progress as I go through a song instead of state saving and just shutting down? I cannot keep losing work like this

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8388
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: MIDI issues

Post by Rim » Fri Jan 01, 2016 1:20 pm

That sounds pretty frustrating. I have no idea how SampleTank stores it's data. Do they have a preset system, where you can save your setups, etc? Not sure how I can help, as Auria doesn't have anything to do with storing info of other apps (Apple doesn't have a way to do this).

Rim

Skippy567
Expert
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2015 8:23 pm

Re: MIDI issues

Post by Skippy567 » Fri Jan 01, 2016 2:20 pm

No I mean saving my songs progress in Auria. Sample tank here I don't think is the issue. I can't get the song back once it crashes. Even when I try to load it . Is there any to get my song back?

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8388
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: MIDI issues

Post by Rim » Fri Jan 01, 2016 4:16 pm

Sorry, maybe I'm misunderstanding the issue. I wasn't aware that anything crashed, You said that you came back to your project and the sampletank sound had changed? Please let me know what it's doing now exactly when you try to open an Auria project? I'll try to help if I can.

Rim

Skippy567
Expert
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2015 8:23 pm

Re: MIDI issues

Post by Skippy567 » Fri Jan 01, 2016 7:15 pm

I just opened Auria, it opened to a new project I managed to start after a previous crash. When I go to "load recent" and pull up the problem track it immediately crashes, there is some sort of message that flashes for 1 second I cannot read something about in app problems. When I re open from the crash it prompts me to tell it what I was doing last which I do then it defaults to a "new project". When I go to load project and tap it from there it crashes the same way. I really would like to be able to retrieve this file.
'

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8388
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: MIDI issues

Post by Rim » Fri Jan 01, 2016 8:01 pm

Usually when Auria can't load a project, it will give you a choice of doing three things: Retry, load from snapshot or cancel. Instead of retrying, I suggest choosing the option to load a snapshot. Auria automatically makes a snapshot every 10 minutes, so there's a good chance you have a snapshot in there that works fine. It sounds like this is caused by an incompatible IAA you were using.

Rim

Skippy567
Expert
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2015 8:23 pm

Re: MIDI issues

Post by Skippy567 » Fri Jan 01, 2016 9:28 pm

I have no snapshot of that song. There are only 10 files there, is there some other place look?

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8388
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: MIDI issues

Post by Rim » Sat Jan 02, 2016 7:49 am

Snapshots are automatically created every 10 minutes, so if you used that project for more than 10 minutes, there should have been some snapshots available. When you try to load the project, you should get a message asking if you want to load a previous snapshot. Do you get this message?

Not sure what you mean by 10 files, can you elaborate?

Rim

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 16 guests