Focusrite 18i20.....Any News ???

For topics specifically about audio interfaces (USB, MFi, Camera Connection Kit)

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
Chaosinside777
Expert
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:29 pm

Focusrite 18i20.....Any News ???

Post by Chaosinside777 » Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:19 pm

I just wanted to ask if somebody already experienced a Solution for the sync of the Scarlett via SPdif with Auria.
I think that there won't ever appear Something like a " Scarlett Mix App" ( which I would really love and Even Pay for)
But maybe there is a workaround to use the spdif of the 18i20 with Auria without crackles?....

Cheerioooo,
Andy From Austria

cibim
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 9:24 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Focusrite 18i20.....Any News ???

Post by cibim » Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:51 pm

Hi Andy!

I've been using for a while Focusrite 18i20 + Auria and SPDIF without any problems.

I only work with 48k samplerate projects and my SPDIF A/D is a cheap one from ebay like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Digital-Analog- ... 2ed01ad306

What's your setup?

Cheers!

Chaosinside777
Expert
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:29 pm

Re: Focusrite 18i20.....Any News ???

Post by Chaosinside777 » Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:44 am

Hi Cibim,

my spdif-device that goes into the Focusrite 18i20 is an Fractal Audio Axe-FX II Guitar Processor. It works with a fixed samplerate of 48 khz and has spdif & AES digital outputs and inputs.

If the output is used, the Axe-Fx automatically sets to Master, if the input is used, it works as slave.
When I use the Axe FX, together with the focusrite & my Laptop, I can set the sync and save it via Scarlet Mix.

But when I save to hardware and plug the focusrite into the ipad, the sync gets lost...

cibim
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 9:24 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Focusrite 18i20.....Any News ???

Post by cibim » Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:38 pm

In your SPDIF device, do you have a bit depth option (16/24 bits)? Are you using a WordClock?

Auria works only in 24 bits. And, in my case, 18i20 auto syncs with Auria in 48k 24 bits every time I plug it in.

Cheers!

Chaosinside777
Expert
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:29 pm

Re: Focusrite 18i20.....Any News ???

Post by Chaosinside777 » Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:31 pm

The Axe only works in 24 Bit 48 khz.

User avatar
Anthony Alves
Expert
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:52 am

Re: Focusrite 18i20.....Any News ???

Post by Anthony Alves » Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:12 am

Some tips to avoid noise in SPIDIF. Use very high quality short lenghth coaxial 75ohm cables. It is recommended in recording set ups to connect both SPIDIF in and out of the two units. The maximum bit depth of spidif is 20 bit @ 44.1 or 48khz .If less bits are used those bits will be zeros. Some equiptment supplies an extra 4 bits to equal 24. And if one unit cannot adjust the jitter enough it may be too insuficient to control a high end DAC. I cant stress how sensitive the cable issue is. . These cables should be kept far way from any RF noise or ground loops. Wifi also affects these cables affecting the Units ability to control jitter and that results in noise at the DACs output like crackling or distortion. I use Monster cables @ 75 ohms under 1m in length. Hope that helps. Cheers.
~~_/)~~~*

Chaosinside777
Expert
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:29 pm

Re: Focusrite 18i20.....Any News ???

Post by Chaosinside777 » Fri Jul 18, 2014 10:33 am

I'm also using a 1 m 75 Ohm Hi-Quality cable.

The constant clicks don't have anything to do with the cable or the connection from Axe-Fx to the Focusrite. As told before, if I connect the Focusrite to my Studio-PC or my Laptop, everything is perfect and there is no noise, except the shit I try to play with my guitar ;-)

Even if the Focusrite's Sync-Status LED is green, I have this constant clicks (that sound like the tick tack of an old mechanic watch), but only if I use the Focusrite with the ipad/Auria.

And even when I'm not connected to any computer, the "Save to Hardware" function of Focusrite's Scarlett Mix is working.
My Axe-FX get's in perfect sync when I turn both units on - no matter in which order. A few seconds after turning both units on, the sync is on green. No clicks...

I will test the hardware with garage band and audiobus, and will post my experience.

Cheerio,
Andy

Chaosinside777
Expert
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:29 pm

Re: Focusrite 18i20.....Any News ???

Post by Chaosinside777 » Fri Jul 18, 2014 11:35 am

A few minutes ago i got an Email From Focusrite, where they confirmed, that it is a bug in their Firmware and that they are working on the problem with the sync Problem.

Dear Auria-Developers/Techs: Auria is NOT to blame for the sync-problems. if there is a new Firmware Release, I get informed by Focusrite and I will Let you all know it then!

Cheerio,
Andy From Red Bull Country

Chaosinside777
Expert
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:29 pm

Re: Focusrite 18i20.....Any News ???

Post by Chaosinside777 » Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:32 am

Yesterday Focusrite released a new Beta Firmware for the Scarlett Interfaces.
Hopefully tomorrow I can test it with Auria and post my experiences..

Cheers,
Andy

drock
Expert
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:11 pm

Re: Focusrite 18i20.....Any News ???

Post by drock » Mon Oct 06, 2014 7:31 am

Hey Andy, I'm curious about the outcome of this with the latest firmware and all. I'm thinking about using a 18i20 myself with both ADAT and SPIF. Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest