Problem monitoring playback on Audiobox 1818vsl

For topics specifically about audio interfaces (USB, MFi, Camera Connection Kit)

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
indratgj
Expert
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:41 am

Problem monitoring playback on Audiobox 1818vsl

Post by indratgj » Sat Oct 13, 2012 10:00 am

Guys,

I'm new here. I've got an iPad3, Audiobox 1818vsl, and Auria. Hooked it up last night, using a powered usb hub and camera connector kit. Audio goes in and records just fine, but I can't get any playback. When I play back a track there is nothing on the level monitors of the Audiobox and nothing in the headphones plugged into the audiobox.

I don't have anything hooked up to the headphone output jack of the iPad.

I had assumed that playback monitoring would occur back through the iPad connector and usb. Am I mistaken? Do I have to monitor playback by running a cord from the iPad headphone jack back into the front panel inputs on the audiobox.

Any help (and patience with Newbie) would be appreciated. Thanks.

ajmack302
Expert
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 7:07 am

Re: Problem monitoring playback on Audiobox 1818vsl

Post by ajmack302 » Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:32 pm

Hi there,

If I'm understanding your issue correctly there are a few ways to monitor through the Presonus 1818vsl.

1. Use powered monitor speakers connected to the L/R main outputs at the back of the unit.
2. Through the headphone input at the front (You should be running iOS6 on your ipad as the headphone input on the Presonus doesn't work with prior software.
3. Get a headphone amp and a stereo Y-cable and connect to outputs 1 & 2.
4. Simply use the headphone input on your ipad.

I've found all the above work fine for me (ipad 2 iOS6, Auria 1.03.1, Presonus 1818vsl)

Good luck

Aaron
Ps. Are you 'disarming' the record button before playback?

User avatar
mtingle
Expert
Posts: 992
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:47 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Problem monitoring playback on Audiobox 1818vsl

Post by mtingle » Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:35 pm

there's also a box in the settings page that if you click activates through monitoring of inputs.

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7856
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Problem monitoring playback on Audiobox 1818vsl

Post by Rim » Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:41 pm

Under iOS5, there's no way to get audio out of the headphone jack on the 1818, because the headphone jack on the 1818 is connected to outs 7&8, and iOS 5 only supports outputting on 1&2.

Rim

indratgj
Expert
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:41 am

Re: Problem monitoring playback on Audiobox 1818vsl

Post by indratgj » Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:34 pm

I tried the suggestions about running out of the main outs in back into a power amp and speakers. I tried the same thing with outputs 1 and 2 in the back. Nothing.

I'm beginning to wonder is my 1818 is bad. Because when I plug a microphone into input channel 1, and get the mic up to the point of clipping on the channel indicator, I still don't get any meter movement at all on the L and R output meters. Shouldn't those things be responding if I've got a mic in channel one that's flashing the clip indicator?

Also, to Rim, I'm running the new iPad 3 operating system; I think it ios 6, or something like that.

Appreciate the help.

indratgj
Expert
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:41 am

Re: Problem monitoring playback on Audiobox 1818vsl

Post by indratgj » Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:37 pm

I should also point out that I'm not hooked to a computer that's running the VSL software. I downloaded the VSL software from the Apple App store, but the copy on my iPad, seems to be a demo. Is the VSL software crucial for this to work?

ajmack302
Expert
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 7:07 am

Re: Problem monitoring playback on Audiobox 1818vsl

Post by ajmack302 » Sat Oct 13, 2012 3:59 pm

In my case I use the presonus exclusively with ipad as I have no computer, I didn't use any of the vsl software and the 1818 works like a charm.
Tough to figure out what's going wrong for you.
Aaron

indratgj
Expert
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:41 am

Re: Problem monitoring playback on Audiobox 1818vsl

Post by indratgj » Sat Oct 13, 2012 4:21 pm

Aaron,

I just tried the L and R monitor out thing again, with the Auria demo playing. The USB sync light is on, so I know that's working. But I have no output meter movement on the 1818, nothing.

I also plugged a 1/8" inch jack into the iPad headphone out, and ran that into channels 1 and 2 (left and right signals) on the front of the Audiobox. Played the Auria demo. Cranked the channels and the Main volume control on the Audiobox. Once again, no sound through speakers and no output meter movement on the Audiobox.

So, when you have a mic plugged or instrument plugged in, you're getting meter movement on the L and R output meters?

If so, then I think output stage on my 1818 unit must be bad.

ajmack302
Expert
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 7:07 am

Re: Problem monitoring playback on Audiobox 1818vsl

Post by ajmack302 » Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:43 am

Hey there,

Just to make sure, is your USB sync light blue or red?
I've set my gear up to try and see if I can replicate your problem but whichever way I do it there is movement on the output meter of the Presonus, the only time there is no output on the Presonus is when the USB sync is red and therefore Auria is set to INT mode as opposed to USB mode. (You'll see this in the title bar at the top of the screen in Auria)
If Auria indicates you're in USB mode and there's no movement on the output meter on the Presonus then yeah, maybe it's a fault on the unit.
And yes, with a guitar plugged in I see movement on the output meter.

Keep us posted.

Aaron

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7856
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Problem monitoring playback on Audiobox 1818vsl

Post by Rim » Sun Oct 14, 2012 5:37 am

There's one more thing that's unique about the 1818 - the output volume defaults to 0 when plugged into an iPad. You must turn this up the first time you use it. This is done by using the iPad's hardware volume buttons, located on the side of the iPad. These volume buttons control the 1818's master output level, and the 1818 will remember this forever, once you set it. It's important to only do this once the 1818 is plugged into the iPad and you see the USB indicator in Auria. If you do it beforehand, you'll only be controlling the iPad's own internal volume.

Rim

indratgj
Expert
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:41 am

Re: Problem monitoring playback on Audiobox 1818vsl

Post by indratgj » Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:49 am

Rim,

The zero default thing was the problem. Works just fine now.

Thanks to you and everyone else here for the help. Great forum and great folks.

Cheers,
Travis

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest