Zoom H4N and ios6

For topics specifically about audio interfaces (USB, MFi, Camera Connection Kit)

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

McKone
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:52 pm

Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by McKone » Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:48 am

Hi all,

Ever since I updated to ios6 Auria does not recognize my Zoom H4N as an audio interface. Anyone else having issues like this?

I'm running through a powered hub and had no issues until I upgraded.
Thanks

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by Rim » Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:53 am

It's possible that iOS6 is more strict in terms of which hubs will work. Have you tried using a different hub?

Rim

butch107
Expert
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:33 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by butch107 » Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:30 am

Have an H2 Zoom and it's still working fine....Didn't work the first time but totally restarted Auria, set Zoom for USB audio and it worked fine.

doncho
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:05 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by doncho » Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:07 pm

yup, same here. works great with my behringer x32 but with the h4n......nothing. the x32 is a bit big for most work though :)

ipad 4 with iOS 6.0.1

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by Rim » Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:21 pm

It's quite possible that iPads are no longer compatible with the h4n. It's hard to say what changes iOS6 brought in terms of USB compatibility. Have you tried using a different hub?

Rim

doncho
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:05 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by doncho » Thu Nov 15, 2012 4:21 pm

Yes i have tried with a different hub but still no luck. Sad to say but i think you are correct. No more h4n and iPad. Guess we will know more with the next iOS update.

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by Rim » Thu Nov 15, 2012 4:34 pm

Out of curiosity, what's the message you get?

Rim

doncho
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:05 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by doncho » Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:08 am

I don't get any message. It's as if there wasn't anything plugged in.
If i connect the h4n to my MacBook it shows up instantly in Sound and
Midi settnings.

McKone
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:52 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by McKone » Sun Nov 18, 2012 9:38 am

Same here. I thought I had a bad cable or something. No messages. It's like the H4n was never plugged in. Luckily, I have a Fast Track Pro lying around that works well. Also lucky that I've found other uses for the H4n - it's a great for no frills on site piano recordings.

doncho
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:05 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by doncho » Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:43 am

Got My hands on a H4 today and it's working! Looks like I will be "downgrading" from
my H4n....

trupro
Expert
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 3:13 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by trupro » Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:03 pm

McKone wrote:Same here. I thought I had a bad cable or something. No messages. It's like the H4n was never plugged in. Luckily, I have a Fast Track Pro lying around that works well. Also lucky that I've found other uses for the H4n - it's a great for no frills on site piano recordings.
Um...i thought the fast track pro has been said by multiple users and the auria team to NOT work with auria on iPad. Has this changed with i0s 6?

Phil999
Expert
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by Phil999 » Tue Nov 27, 2012 8:35 pm

that's what I thought as well, and started a web search. It seems it does work for some, or only the inputs, but I didn't find newer reports with iOS 6.

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by Rim » Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:55 am

The fast track pro series all work fine with the iPad and with Auria.

Rim

Phil999
Expert
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by Phil999 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 9:10 am

that's encouraging, thanks for the info. I have a Fast Track Ultra (but no CCK, not yet), but I doubt Auria will see more than inputs 1+2. If someone has a Fast Track Ultra working with 6 or 8 inputs, please share your experiences. I've searched the web many times but couldn't find confirmation. So I bought a Tascam iU2 which I'm not too happy with (occasionally no sound, or digital distortion). Thinking about getting a Presonus 1818, but first I need a solution to power the iPad with attached CCK.

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Zoom H4N and ios6

Post by Rim » Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:18 am

Sorry, I misspoke. I was referring to the Fast Track Pro 2-channel version. I don't believe the multi-channel versions of the fast track work on iPads.

Rim

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 3 guests