Roland Duo-Capture EX

For topics specifically about audio interfaces (USB, MFi, Camera Connection Kit)

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Tomasz
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 3:44 am

Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by Tomasz » Fri Aug 31, 2012 3:52 am

Hello!
Is the interface Roland Duo-Capture EX will work with Auria ?

http://www.rolandconnect.com/product.ph ... ex&l=en-US

Regards :D

Chris M
Expert
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by Chris M » Tue Sep 04, 2012 12:22 pm

Hello,

This is not one we've tested, so we cannot comment on its compatibility. You might try posting it in the Interface Working/Not Working thread to see if any other users have had success with it.

Best,

Chris
WaveMachine Labs

stoeff
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 12:21 pm

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by stoeff » Mon Apr 01, 2013 12:32 pm

Roland Duo Capture ex is working perfect with auria (also Audiobus, Korg apps, Animoog, Loopy, Jam Up...) and Ipad 4.
Note: if you use it on an Ipad, you have to power it from batteries or an (Optional) AC Adapter! My Ac adapter is 9V DC ,500mA / Polarity: + outside, - center

User avatar
sch
Expert
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:11 pm
Location: PNW, Canada
Contact:

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by sch » Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:13 pm

A timely post... I was just looking at picking this interface up! Good to know it works well, thanks!

User avatar
PatSieb
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 4:42 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by PatSieb » Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:08 am

i can confirme that the Roland Duo Capture ex is working great with Auria and the other apps, i use it on my iPad 1 .

blackbird1955
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 1:13 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by blackbird1955 » Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:15 am

I've been beating around on this thing for quite sometime now. It works very well w/ both iPad 2 & 3! No problems with any of my music or sound apps.

Erik dP
Expert
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:07 am

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by Erik dP » Wed Apr 03, 2013 5:28 am

-What is the gain? Thinking about if a gain demanding dynamic mic is used.

-Can it be used "standalone" as a mixer/mic-preamp? Nice if everyting could be plugged in for practice without, e.g. Ipad.

(I'm using an Apogee One today.)
Last edited by Erik dP on Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Song writer http://www.youtube.com/erikdepomian
"Your Comfort Lie" "White Feather" "Canyons" "Where No Monsters Go" ...and more.

blackbird1955
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 1:13 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by blackbird1955 » Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:08 am

What is the gain?
The abovementioned link covers much, however, here's the spec sheet:

http://www.rolandus.com/products/details/1248/specs/

I've been gigging with it on a blues harp, and it's pretty sturdy & tuff. Can take a real beating as a standalone!!

I mentioned this to Rim some time back, however, never heard fm him ;)!

Erik dP
Expert
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:07 am

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by Erik dP » Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:24 am

Yeah, thanks! But I saw that earlier:

INPUT 1, 2 (XLR type): -60 to -12 dBu INPUT 1, 2 (1/4-inch TRS phone type): -46 to +2 dBu

Edit:

-Will this be enough for gain demanding mics (e.g. sm7b)?
-Can it be used as a mixer/mic-preamp without connecion to e.g. a computer/ipad?



Hmm. I wonder if something got lost in the translation regarding "standalone". Sorry for my school English (I'm not native English speaking) in that case.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standalone

...I would like to know if it can be used as a mic-preamp without computer or Ipad. Don't know if standalone is a correct word.
Last edited by Erik dP on Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:27 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Song writer http://www.youtube.com/erikdepomian
"Your Comfort Lie" "White Feather" "Canyons" "Where No Monsters Go" ...and more.

blackbird1955
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 1:13 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by blackbird1955 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 2:26 pm

...But I thought that, not knowing if I read it right, 60-12 means 48dB gain which feels a bit low as they state that they use the same mic inputs as their high end gear. Apogee One has 62 dB, Duet 70 dB as a comparison.
First I must say that our studio uses several pieces of machinery, mainly pro tools HD. However, as one of the beta testers for Auria, I really dig my iPads (have a few of them).

I get the impression that you may not truly understand the science of Recording. Take a peek see at this article fm Sound on Sound, it reminds me a bit of your above statements. Enjoy! The article explains in laymen's terms a number of misconceptions.

http://www.soundonsound.com/forum/showf ... er=1035807

Erik dP
Expert
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:07 am

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by Erik dP » Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:34 pm

Thanks for the forum discussion link.

My concern is that some mics, like Sure sm7b, do require a lot from the preamps (gain) from what I read. I guess I should have stayed away from dB-figures and just simply asked if it can be used with popular, but gain demanding, mics.

I enjoy writing songs. Recording the songs is the cumbersome part for me. Auria/Ipad suits me better than computer based DAWs. Welcome to my home studio: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aYu1qVbNa9w

...Sorry for using the front camera of the Ipad.

I have edited/simplified my earlier questions.

My main interest in this interface is because of its battery and its two inputs. Built in midi is also a plus. Now I use the Apogee One with an external battery pack, slightly smaller than the One itself. It works fine with phantom power. This is what I use in the linked video. I might need two channels, and therefore I am chosing between this Roland interface and the new Apogee One.
Song writer http://www.youtube.com/erikdepomian
"Your Comfort Lie" "White Feather" "Canyons" "Where No Monsters Go" ...and more.

blackbird1955
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 1:13 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by blackbird1955 » Wed Apr 10, 2013 2:37 pm

My main interest in this interface is because of its battery and its two inputs. Built in midi is also a plus.
The midi is quite nice, especially w/ Cubasis. The battery set up is nice, but I also purchased the power cord (sold separately).

As a side note, I also have the orig Mbox, Mbox 2 & Mbox Pro, all very nice for what they do. However, I like Roland's VS preamps much better. Quite pristine.

There is a .pdf manual on Roland's website that may be of interest. I honestly believe this thing can handle any mic you throw at it.

davarm
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 8:09 am

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by davarm » Thu May 09, 2013 7:17 am

It does have built in phantom power for phantom mics, which can be switched on or off.

I've been playing with mine for a couple of months now, and it works great with iPads.

Erik dP
Expert
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:07 am

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by Erik dP » Mon May 13, 2013 2:10 am

...I looked in the manual a couple of weeks ago, and it seems (even though it wouldn't matter to me) that using it for an Ipad (maybe just related to internal battery usage (?)) the recording limitation is set to 44.1. I'm not really sure if this is correct, but could be worth looking up if anyone plans to use e.g. 48.

(Currently I'm using the Apogee One. Not this Roland.)
Song writer http://www.youtube.com/erikdepomian
"Your Comfort Lie" "White Feather" "Canyons" "Where No Monsters Go" ...and more.

Haywire
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 7:26 pm

Re: Roland Duo-Capture EX

Post by Haywire » Tue May 21, 2013 8:07 pm

Bought this a couple weeks ago and used it last weekend to record a song with various mics. It vastly improved my sound quality from the AT2020USB I had been using. You can hear the result here: https://soundcloud.com/sam-patton-2/i-will-finish

The main thing to remember when you get it is to set the 44.1/48/Tab switch on the back to Tab for "Tablet" otherwise you will get an error message.

Very Pleased with mine!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests