The Working / Not working audio interfaces thread

For topics specifically about audio interfaces (USB, MFi, Camera Connection Kit)

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
Muttlee23
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 6:36 am

Re: Usb sound cards

Post by Muttlee23 » Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:41 pm

thanks for the quick reply!

so to confirm, Auria is able to select the sampling/bit rate for any class compliant sound card when the project is created? is this true for the Scarlett 8i6? I've read that for the Tascam US-800 some users with another DAW found that they only way to change the sampling rate was with a pc/mac, keep it powered and plug the usb it into the ipad... but if your saying that Auria takes care of all that, you rock!

RKHIII
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:22 pm

Tascam US-800: Not available. How about US-600 ??

Post by RKHIII » Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:32 pm

No one appears to be stocking the Tascam US-800 any longer (which is on the programcompatibility list). The US-600 is still available. Any word on whether that sku is compatible with Auria? Thanks, RH

kevinmac
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:22 pm

Re: Possible bug

Post by kevinmac » Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:38 pm

The masterstrip of any track can cause this, not just the master channel. I put it on the vocal subgroup fader and when I turned on the limiter section, the audio dropped out and the meters acted erratically. So it appears to be the limiter section having the problem across the board. And the freeze track off-time issue I mentioned first. Thanks again for your help!

Kevin

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7854
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Tascam US-800: Not available. How about US-600 ??

Post by Rim » Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:48 pm

The US-800 was the only multichannel tascam interface which worked with an iPad (we tried them all, including the US-600).

We don't recommend the tascam anyway, because there was a headroom issue, and all the monitor outputs were forced on during recording.

There are many other good choices in our list, such as the Focusrite 8i6.

Rim

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7854
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Usb sound cards

Post by Rim » Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:49 pm

You'll still need a powered USB hub with most of the interfaces. Although, Focusrite has already solved this problem, and is coming out with an updated firmware for the 8i6 and 18i6 which addresses this. So once you load the new firmware into the interface, you'll no longer need a hub.

Rim

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7854
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Scarlett_I8i6 digital input sync?

Post by Rim » Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:51 pm

We're not really sure about that. I think you'll need to contact Focusrite to get a clearer idea. The iPad simply uses whatever defaults are provided in terms of clocking.

Rim

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7854
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Sound card choice

Post by Rim » Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:55 pm

The Focusrite 8i6 and 18i6 are nice, so is the RME UCX. Have you looked into these?

Rim

Albrecht
Expert
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:27 pm

Re: Tascam US-800: Not available. How about US-600 ??

Post by Albrecht » Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:41 pm

The US 600 does not work, the 800 works fine, also Lexicon Omega with my iPad2.

Albrecht
Expert
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:27 pm

Re: Sound card choice

Post by Albrecht » Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:46 pm

and Lexicon Omega

edit - sorry, of course only for 4 tracks recoring at once

sampletime
Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 4:32 pm

Scarlett 18i6 hook up...

Post by sampletime » Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:00 am

I'm using a Scarlett 18i6 as my home (PC) studio interface - works great.

I tried to hook it up last night to my Ipad running Auria and couldn't get the Ipad to recognise it. It WAS late and I didn't spend ages, but I got to thinking....does this device need a powered USB Hub or not. I see that some devices do and others don't. I just wondered, is anyone else using a Scarlett and if so, with or without a powered hub?

Might save some messing around while I try to work it out.
Thanks in advance
Paul

noctemaudio
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:55 am

Apogee Duet 2!

Post by noctemaudio » Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:57 am

Will this work with this? I also have an M-Audio Profire 2626 but that's firewire =(

I'm picking up an Apogee Duet 2 very soon though, if that won't work I'm very tempted to go with the Alesis iO dock, with this app it would be a very complete portable studio and DAW with the mics I have!

Thanks!

sampletime
Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 4:32 pm

Re: Scarlett 18i6 hook up...

Post by sampletime » Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:33 am

Found the answer - it's already been answered in the thread "Usb sound cards" previously...

Looks like it does need a powered Hub until Focusrite bring out their firmware update which will solve the problem.
Apologies for not looking at the prior answers...

leginkhan
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 1:31 pm

Re: Charge on iPAD using usb interfaces

Post by leginkhan » Wed Jul 18, 2012 9:46 am

Thanks Elepah3. Much appreciated.

Chris M
Expert
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Apogee Duet 2!

Post by Chris M » Wed Jul 18, 2012 10:54 am

Hello,

The Apogee Duet 2 requires specialized drivers and will therefore not be compatible with Auria. The Alesis iO Dock, however, is fully compatible with the iPad and Auria.

Best,

Chris
WaveMachine Labs

leginkhan
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 1:31 pm

Recording with Focusrite Scarlett 18i6

Post by leginkhan » Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:05 am

From what i understand, when i connect the Focusrite to my iPAD using Auria i can basically edit the matrix and place tracks to separate channels. So say for instance i record drums from four outputs from the Focusrite into four seperate tracks in auria, are those four tracks from the four physical output interfaces on my Focusrite permanently mapped to the the matrix in auria (reason for asking this is, can i after assign all six ports on the Focusrite to new tracks(channels in the matrix in auria) in auria?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest