Zoom F8

For topics specifically about audio interfaces (USB, MFi, Camera Connection Kit)

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
Yannovitch
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 9:28 am

Zoom F8

Post by Yannovitch » Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:11 am

Hello,

I am thinking about buying a field recorder Zoom F8 which is listed as being a class compliant interface as well.
Has anybody used with success a Zoom F8 with Auria ?

Musically,

Y

gobo
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 8:08 am

Re: Zoom F8

Post by gobo » Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:13 am

I have F8 but never tried that because with iOs F8 provides only 2 in / 2 out — sends stereo mix of all channels.
I assume you know this, though, so if you like I can make a test.
Just need to get things set up...

Yannovitch
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 9:28 am

Re: Zoom F8

Post by Yannovitch » Mon Apr 30, 2018 4:19 am

Thanks a lot for your answer !
Yes I am aware that the manual says 2in/2out but that’s a general limitation in iOS. Auria normally implements multichannel capabilities.
What I would like to know :
- With iPad not linked to DC, ZOOM F8 on battery or Hirose battery, iPad connected with CCK to Zoom F8, Zoom F8 in Multichannel mode : Do you have 8 inputs and 4 outputs in Auria ?
- With iPad not linked to DC, ZOOM F8 plugged to DC, iPad connected with CCK to Zoom F8, Zoom F8 in Multichannel mode : Do you have 8 inputs and 4 outputs in Auria ?
- If you have the most recent CCK ( which is USB3, and have a Lightning DC input AND a USB input), with iPad linked to DC, ZOOM F8 on battery or Dc, iPad connected with modern CCK to Zoom F8, Zoom F8 in Multichannel mode : Do you have 8 inputs and 4 outputs in Auria ?
- If you have Cubasis, do you have the same results for the two softwares ?

Thanks a lot in advance for your help!

Yann

gobo
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 8:08 am

Re: Zoom F8

Post by gobo » Mon Apr 30, 2018 3:22 pm

How did you know?

Yes there are 8 ins / 4 outs with the only one of your setups I can duplicate* (your 2nd one):
iPad not connected to DC
F8 plugged in (DC)
CCK (older)
F8 on Multichannel


*
— I don't have new CCK
— I don't have 8 AA batteries on hand
— I don't have a way to connect iPad to DC while using it with the Zoom
— I don't have Cubasis

Yannovitch
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 9:28 am

Re: Zoom F8

Post by Yannovitch » Tue May 01, 2018 4:38 am

AWESOME ! So I can use Zoom F8 as a multichannel interface when it's powered ! That's awesome !
I suppose now I can buy Zoom F8 and Auria, and envision using it sometimes on stage, with a personal mix for me and an other one for stage, or things like that. Cooool =).

Thanks a lot for your answer !

Yann

gobo
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 8:08 am

Re: Zoom F8

Post by gobo » Tue May 01, 2018 8:17 am

I haven't experimented with using ins and outs at the same time, and I haven't experimented with routing the four outs.
I'll see if I can do a bit of that later.

Do you have some reason to suspect that the F8 might not work the same when battery-powered ?

gobo
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 8:08 am

Re: Zoom F8

Post by gobo » Tue May 01, 2018 6:18 pm

I'm happy to try to help, but I don't want to mislead you (I'm hardly a pro).

4 outs do show up in Auria, but I haven't had any luck routing them on the F8. They show up on Main (&Sub), though.
Could be I'm missing a something. As I said, I haven't used the F8 as an audio interface before, so that wouldn't be too surprising.

Anyway, even if I'm not missing anything here, it may not matter to you.
Depends on what you need.

If you're patient, I'm happy to make another stab in the next day or two.
The manual isn't much help on this, aside from the fact that its diagram shows that routing of audio from usb is possible in Multitrack mode — maybe it's a limitation of iOS.

gobo
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 8:08 am

Re: Zoom F8

Post by gobo » Fri May 04, 2018 9:39 am

The lightbulb finally came on.
The 4 outs from Auria can be routed to Main or Sub, individually if set to Mono.*
So it seems that everything works as it should.

(No way to sync, aside from using audio I guess.)

*Edit for future reference.
Routing is constrained in this way:
Out 1 goes to Main L
Out 2 goes to Main R
Out 3 goes to Sub L
Out 4 goes to Sub R

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests