Transient signal loss on multitrack record

For topics specifically about audio interfaces (USB, MFi, Camera Connection Kit)

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
jduvick
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:42 am

Transient signal loss on multitrack record

Post by jduvick » Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:05 pm

I see a few cases of transient data loss across all channels on record (see attachment) - would this be a problem upstream of Auria or possibly some buffer-related problem in the CPU? I'm using 128 buffer size on 8 channels at 44.1 kHz, Audient ASP880 (ADAT out) -> USBstreamer -> iPad Pro 12.9 inch.
Thanks,
Jon
PS No accordion jokes please! :D
IMG_0072 (1).jpg

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7854
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Transient signal loss on multitrack record

Post by Rim » Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:18 pm

Can you tell me more about this track? Did it have transients detected previously, and they disappeared? Or is this a new track, and you're not seeing any transients being detected after recording?

One thing to keep in mind is that transient detection in Auria (and all DAWs really) is not a perfect system. It works best on percussive tracks like drums (for example, you wouldn't use it on an instrument like an accordion, or a vocal).

Rim

jduvick
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:42 am

Re: Transient signal loss on multitrack record

Post by jduvick » Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:25 pm

Sorry I was using 'transient' as an adjective to describe loss of signal for a few samples. All tracks are flatlined to 0V after a brief stutter (in the area circled) resulting in an audible click. As far as I can tell it's only happening occasionally over 30 or 40 minutes of tracking, but I'd like to identify possible causes and mitigate againt it happening again. Thanks!

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7854
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Transient signal loss on multitrack record

Post by Rim » Fri Feb 24, 2017 9:53 am

OK, now I understand. This looks like an audio interface issue. Perhaps it's related to your ADAT interface? Check to make sure your clocking is correct on your interfaces. One must be the master and the other the slave. Maybe try switching them so the other one is the slave to see if it makes a difference.

Rim

jduvick
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:42 am

Re: Transient signal loss on multitrack record

Post by jduvick » Sat Feb 25, 2017 8:01 am

Thanks Rim I think you are right. It turns out the USBstreamer-b (a USB-powered conversion box for ADAT/TOSLINK <-> USB) is factory-configured as master clock source, and there is no way to change this setting via software on an iPad. So I will need to wire up a BNC connector on this box so I can send its clock signal to my ADAT source. I will report back on my outcome in case others might be interested in a similar application.
Jon
P.S. Auria rocks! Dream come true for ultra-portable multitrack recording and mixing...

User avatar
Anthony Alves
Expert
Posts: 1203
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:52 am

Re: Transient signal loss on multitrack record

Post by Anthony Alves » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:16 am

For what it's worth, dgital peaks in digital recording flatlines at -1 db. Anything over that gets cut off ie. no sample. Try to keep your audio in the digital domain around -6 db this way you can prevent digital clipping. Cheers.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests