Would Aria recognize 2 or more audio interfaces?

For topics specifically about audio interfaces (USB, MFi, Camera Connection Kit)

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
BGR
Expert
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 10:14 am

Would Aria recognize 2 or more audio interfaces?

Post by BGR » Mon Feb 03, 2014 5:12 pm

For example:

If I connect a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 and a iTrack Solo via the Camera Connection Kit to an iPad. Would Auria recognize and be able to use 4 inputs?

Washboy
Expert
Posts: 926
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:55 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Would Aria recognize 2 or more audio interfaces?

Post by Washboy » Mon Feb 03, 2014 6:36 pm

iOS only supports one USB audio device at a time.

User avatar
lkingston
Expert
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:53 pm
Location: Gainesville, Florida

Re: Would Aria recognize 2 or more audio interfaces?

Post by lkingston » Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:58 pm

Yes, Auria recognizes multiple audio interfaces, and in fact that is how I use it. Go into the settings and change the CoreAudio Mode to MultiRoute, then restart Auria. Now the multiple audio interfaces will show up in the input and output Matrix settings.

Washboy
Expert
Posts: 926
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:55 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Would Aria recognize 2 or more audio interfaces?

Post by Washboy » Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:56 pm

Wow! I'm so sorry for the bum steer, @BGR and thanks for the education, @IKingston :oops:

Good to know.

BGR
Expert
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 10:14 am

Re: Would Aria recognize 2 or more audio interfaces?

Post by BGR » Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:58 am

@lkingston

I cant get it to work.

I am working with:
Auria 1.140
iPad 4th Generation Retina A6 EDIT: iOS 7.0.4

And tried the configuration I sugested above:
iTrack Solo and Scarlet 2i2 connected through a powered hub.

Aurias CoreAudio is Multiroute.

Cant get it to work.

Are you using extra software, Audiobus for example?

Kind regards,

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Would Aria recognize 2 or more audio interfaces?

Post by Rim » Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:02 am

That's not correct, the iPad only allows you to connect one audio interface and one midi interface (or an audio interface that also has midi). Even if you connect a hub, iOS only recognizes one audio and one midi device.

Rim

BGR
Expert
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 10:14 am

Re: Would Aria recognize 2 or more audio interfaces?

Post by BGR » Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:13 am

@Rim @Washboy

Thank you!

User avatar
lkingston
Expert
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:53 pm
Location: Gainesville, Florida

Re: Would Aria recognize 2 or more audio interfaces?

Post by lkingston » Wed Feb 05, 2014 9:58 pm

I am using a TC Helicon VoiceLive Play GTX via USB with Auria. This box isn't really designed to do Multitrack audio and I never could audition previous Auria tracks and record new tracks without the auditioned tracks being re-recorded in an echoey feedback loop. My solution was to use both the built in audio and the TC Helicon audio at the same time using the steps I outlined in the previous post. I assumed that you could do this with any two audio interfaces, but it sounds like I was wrong. It must be that you can use one USB audio interface plus the built in audio on the iPad.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests