Mapping the Focusrite Scarlett 18i6 for iPad.

For topics specifically about audio interfaces (USB, MFi, Camera Connection Kit)

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

G-master G
Expert

Mapping the Focusrite Scarlett 18i6 for iPad.

Post by G-master G » Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:04 pm

Hello everybody,
Upon further investigation as to why I was experiencing some difficulties getting my 18i6 to behave itself I discovered that I have to map it to the iPad.
The Focusrite homepage provides the following instruction for how this can be achieved but for a complete novice like me they assume a lot. I have listed my queries below each step of the instructions; if someone has done this or knows the answers to my questions I would appreciate some guidance.
To use the Scarlett 8i6/18i6 with an iPad follow these instructions:
1. Download the Scarlett Mix Control iPad mappings found on this page
QUERY: The mappings are contained in a .zip file. To where do I download them? My iPad? My PC?

What do I do with the .zip file once it is downloaded? To where do I extract it?
2. From Scarlett Mix Control select File->Open
3. Load the required mapping
QUERY: what is/are the name(s) of the file(s) that am I looking for here?
4. With the 8i6/18i6 connected, select File->Save to Hardware
5. You may now connect the 8i6/18i6 to an iPad via the camera connection kit
QUERY: is this implying that I should have the 18i6 connected to my PC whilst following all of these instructions?

Cheers
Grant

martygras
Expert

Re: Mapping the Focusrite Scarlett 18i6 for iPad.

Post by martygras » Tue Sep 10, 2013 12:47 pm

Hey G, I'm glad you posted this. It sounds similar to the Tascam US-800 setup for iPad.
I just hope it retains its settings after being unplugged.

I hope you get this sorted out.
Marty Schulte [I'm a drummer. So, there's that.]
iPad AIR(128), Akai EIE, Akai EWI USB, illudium q-36 explosive space modulator
Head First Audio (live sound for Southern Oregon, USA)

G-master G
Expert