Zoom H6

For topics specifically about audio interfaces (USB, MFi, Camera Connection Kit)

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

hmobley
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 12:27 am

Zoom H6

Post by hmobley » Thu Jul 11, 2013 12:29 am

Zoom's H6 is coming out soon in the U.S (has been out in other countries apparently) and it's description says that it's compatible with the Ipad. I have been disappointed that Zoom's R16 and R24 haven't been compatible. Does anybody know if it's true that they are compatible?

rlove
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:09 am

Re: Zoom H6

Post by rlove » Thu Aug 22, 2013 9:42 pm

Yes, I can tell you MOST DEFINITELY that the H6 works. I just received mine within the last 10 days, and I have tested it extensively.

In fact, the Zoom manual actually sells the unit short. It states that the H6 can only act as a 16bit/44.1 khz audio interface in STEREO MODE ONLY. However, I tested this and it is not true. I am able to use ALL 6 input channels individually or collectively on the H6 into Auria, ALL at 24 Bit/96khz.

FYI, I own the original H4 and also the H4n. BOTH units work fine with the iPad, with the CCK and a powered USB hub.
The H6 will work WITHOUT a powered hub. It has a setting that allows the unit to be powered from the 4 AA batteries for iPad use.

Auratech
Expert
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:21 am
Location: Hungary, Győr
Contact:

Re: Zoom H6

Post by Auratech » Fri Aug 23, 2013 8:13 am

6 track it's great! Maybe the stereo sum only for iPad first gen..
Good news! Thanks!
H4n was also great, but the H6 is what I'm waited for years.

My really mobile studio: (less than 3Kg with usb battery extender)
My iPad4
Auria
Zoom H6-(next week)
2x RodeNT1, 2x NT5
My rover Studio: iPad Air2-64Gb, Auria, Zoom H6, 2xRode Nt1, 2x Rode Nt55,
DT-770PRO, XMS-disc-(Jecklin), Ruinvo-panasonic USB Power pack,
Home: Rebuilt BEAG Hec45 Active Studio Monitors, i7-PC-Samplitude, IK-Multimedia ARC-2

hmobley
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Zoom H6

Post by hmobley » Sat Sep 14, 2013 6:22 pm

Wait...rlove...you're saying that the Zoom H6 can act as a 6 in AND 6 out interface without a powered hub? Can anybody confirm this?

Auratech
Expert
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:21 am
Location: Hungary, Győr
Contact:

Re: Zoom H6

Post by Auratech » Wed Sep 25, 2013 11:28 pm

hmobley wrote:Wait...rlove...you're saying that the Zoom H6 can act as a 6 in AND 6 out interface without a powered hub? Can anybody confirm this?
6 in 2 out audio interface.
My rover Studio: iPad Air2-64Gb, Auria, Zoom H6, 2xRode Nt1, 2x Rode Nt55,
DT-770PRO, XMS-disc-(Jecklin), Ruinvo-panasonic USB Power pack,
Home: Rebuilt BEAG Hec45 Active Studio Monitors, i7-PC-Samplitude, IK-Multimedia ARC-2

hmobley
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Zoom H6

Post by hmobley » Thu Sep 26, 2013 10:46 pm

Just got it. I just tested it and it IS 6 in and 6 out and no powered hub needed. Pretty dang happy! I got it from Sweetwater and I asked specifically if it could send 6 independent channels out in interface mode and Sweetwater said that it only has stereo out. I got it anyway because I needed to upgrade from a H4n anyway. I don't know why Zoom and other people are saying that it has only 2 outs. This thing is looking really promising!

Auratech
Expert
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:21 am
Location: Hungary, Győr
Contact:

Re: Zoom H6

Post by Auratech » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:39 am

hmobley wrote:Just got it. I just tested it and it IS 6 in and 6 out and no powered hub needed. Pretty dang happy! I got it from Sweetwater and I asked specifically if it could send 6 independent channels out in interface mode and Sweetwater said that it only has stereo out. I got it anyway because I needed to upgrade from a H4n anyway. I don't know why Zoom and other people are saying that it has only 2 outs. This thing is looking really promising!
Just got it now. Zoom H6 works fine as multitrack interface with iPad4-AURIA.
6 physical in+2 backup track record and 2 physical out.
My rover Studio: iPad Air2-64Gb, Auria, Zoom H6, 2xRode Nt1, 2x Rode Nt55,
DT-770PRO, XMS-disc-(Jecklin), Ruinvo-panasonic USB Power pack,
Home: Rebuilt BEAG Hec45 Active Studio Monitors, i7-PC-Samplitude, IK-Multimedia ARC-2

hmobley
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Zoom H6

Post by hmobley » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:56 pm

Auratech- are you only getting 2 out? I can get 6 independent channels out to Auria on my Ipad 4. Have you tried recording more than 2 channels?

Auratech
Expert
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:21 am
Location: Hungary, Győr
Contact:

Re: Zoom H6

Post by Auratech » Sat Sep 28, 2013 1:59 am

hmobley wrote:Auratech- are you only getting 2 out? I can get 6 independent channels out to Auria on my Ipad 4. Have you tried recording more than 2 channels?
Where comes your 4 extra outputs from H6?

I wrote 2 physical outputs. This is the headphones/line out on the H6 bottom. Maybe possible 4 separate outputs with iPad own stereo phone out and the H6 sztereo headphones/line out at once. Not tried yet. Coud be timing issues. I am not sure.
The internal ruting possibilities (input-output matrix) is not the same as real outs on the recorder.
My rover Studio: iPad Air2-64Gb, Auria, Zoom H6, 2xRode Nt1, 2x Rode Nt55,
DT-770PRO, XMS-disc-(Jecklin), Ruinvo-panasonic USB Power pack,
Home: Rebuilt BEAG Hec45 Active Studio Monitors, i7-PC-Samplitude, IK-Multimedia ARC-2

hmobley
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Zoom H6

Post by hmobley » Sat Sep 28, 2013 7:55 am

Auratech- my bad. I misread your post. I thought you were saying it had only 2 out to the a ipad.

PeterDoubt
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 9:23 am

Re: Zoom H6

Post by PeterDoubt » Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:06 pm

I just picked up the H6. Does anyone know of a source for the xlr capsule? I'd also be interested in anyone's experiences with it. Any tips? How are the internal mics? How are you using it?

Thanks

smoothbassman
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:00 pm

Re: Zoom H6

Post by smoothbassman » Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:06 pm

So I just want to make sure as a new guy. Can I record 6 independent channels with the H6 with this program. I have the H6 but I don't yet have the Auria app on my iPad. I just want to confirm before purchasing the application.

Auratech
Expert
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:21 am
Location: Hungary, Győr
Contact:

Re: Zoom H6

Post by Auratech » Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:15 pm

It works fine..!
- 6 track-24bit-96Khz at once
- IOS7.1- Auria
My rover Studio: iPad Air2-64Gb, Auria, Zoom H6, 2xRode Nt1, 2x Rode Nt55,
DT-770PRO, XMS-disc-(Jecklin), Ruinvo-panasonic USB Power pack,
Home: Rebuilt BEAG Hec45 Active Studio Monitors, i7-PC-Samplitude, IK-Multimedia ARC-2

JordanK
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 12:48 pm

Re: Zoom H6

Post by JordanK » Mon Jul 06, 2015 4:43 pm

Digging up an old post here, but does anyone know if the multitrack will work with an ipad mini retina? Been reading a bunch and it appears that some are unable to do it due to a power issue. Wouls love mini owners to chime in.

Auratech
Expert
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:21 am
Location: Hungary, Győr
Contact:

Re: Zoom H6

Post by Auratech » Tue Jul 07, 2015 4:53 am

- Turn on H6
- Press the menu button and use the - scroll arm to select and pres to set the interface mode
- The interface mode must set to battery powered mode. This is the most important!
Actiavate the plugged mic capsule (record enable button) set the gain to 7.
(To make sure the multimode turn on all ch and set every empty(mic slot) boost up the gain to max10 -for some visible (noise)
- Plug the cck-usb in H6, than iPad (no running (audio) app - even in the background!) wait about 5 s
- Start Auria, make new project 8-track-48Khz-24-bit
- Menu/Input matrix - horizontally the active physical in, vertically the dedicated auria channels
make sure the following Menu/ Settings are correct (about mini specific):
General: Y(es), off, normal, off, off, off, standard, on, off, 30
Mixer: no, linear, Peak, Per-Fader, Enable, -3dB, off, aux1-post-f, aux2-post-f
Editor: enable, 10, global, Yes
Record: on, 512 or 1024, normal, yes,0, on,
The sampling rate sign in Auria- and Zoom must shown the same clock rate! Auria-48-ext, H6-48-24
Set record enable the channels on auria mixer. You can see and hear (in H6) the 6 separate inputs.
My rover Studio: iPad Air2-64Gb, Auria, Zoom H6, 2xRode Nt1, 2x Rode Nt55,
DT-770PRO, XMS-disc-(Jecklin), Ruinvo-panasonic USB Power pack,
Home: Rebuilt BEAG Hec45 Active Studio Monitors, i7-PC-Samplitude, IK-Multimedia ARC-2

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest