Behringer X32 need help with setting up with Auria

For topics specifically about audio interfaces (USB, MFi, Camera Connection Kit)

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Behringer X32 need help with setting up with Auria

Post by Rim » Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:15 am

I don't think the X32 does this properly. We've noticed a few other things that aren't supported, like plugin parameters.

Rim

uh141@onlinehome.de
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 3:29 pm

Re: Behringer X32 need help with setting up with Auria

Post by uh141@onlinehome.de » Wed Oct 30, 2013 3:53 pm

Rim,

which X32 card setting did you use and is recommended for simultaneous recording of 24 tracks?

32inx32out or 32in/8out or ...?

Thanks,
Uwe

Chris M
Expert
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Behringer X32 need help with setting up with Auria

Post by Chris M » Wed Oct 30, 2013 4:53 pm

In our testing, when you are only concerned with recording 24 channels at once, 32in/8out seemed to perform the best.

Chris
WaveMachine Labs

uh141@onlinehome.de
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 3:29 pm

Re: Behringer X32 need help with setting up with Auria

Post by uh141@onlinehome.de » Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:07 am

Thanks Chris!

Another question:

After recording of 24 tracks, is it possible to play them back from Auria to the X32 to the same 24 channels?

If yes, what are the settings for X32 and Auria?

Chris M
Expert
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Behringer X32 need help with setting up with Auria

Post by Chris M » Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:09 pm

That would require the 32in/32out setting. This setting may be more prone to overload issues, but it's the only setting that allows you to send 24 channels out at once.

Best,

Chris
WaveMachine Labs

uh141@onlinehome.de
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 3:29 pm

Re: Behringer X32 need help with setting up with Auria

Post by uh141@onlinehome.de » Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:26 pm

"After recording of 24 tracks, is it possible to play them back from Auria to the X32 to the same 24 channels?"

I tried this today without success, because the output matrix of auria does not allow this. Only routing track 1-24 to sub 1-8 and aux 1-2 and master.

Any idea ?

Uwe

Chris M
Expert
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Behringer X32 need help with setting up with Auria

Post by Chris M » Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:41 pm

Sorry for the confusion--Auria has 11 discrete output mixes available, so technically only 22 would be the most output channels you can access. Here's how:

First, turn off 'INT' in all the output mixes. This will keep them out of the master mix.
Next, create two mono mixes for every subgroup and aux send by panning the desired tracks hard-left and hard-right. Do the same for the master mix, though you don't have to assign these tracks to a subgroup or aux send.
Assign each stereo-pair in the Output matrix to two of the X32' outputs, and you'll be sending a discrete mono mix to 22 outputs.

Example:

Pan tracks 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21 to the left
Pan tracks 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22 to the right
Send tracks 1/2 to Sub 1, 3/4 to Sub 2, 5/6 to Sub 3, 7/8 to Sub 4, 9/10 to Sub 5, 11/12 to Sub 6, 13/14 to Sub 7, 15/16 to Sub 8, 17/18 to Aux 1, 19/20 to Aux 2, and leave 21/22 in the main mix

The result is each track will be sent isolated to the same numbered output on the Behringer.

Best,

Chris
WaveMachine Labs

Papoarvelo
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 9:10 pm

Re: Behringer X32 need help with setting up with Auria

Post by Papoarvelo » Wed Jan 01, 2014 11:28 am

Hi every body.
I've been using Auria on my Ipad 4 and recently with my Ipad Air to record the 24 channels at the same time for our church band.
Normally I record for 50 minutes non stop using the 24 channels on our Behringer X32. I'm still using an old firmware on the X32 (I think is 1.04). it has worked very well so far. Later I remix the recording, and upload to our church web site.

The problem I have is that I can't see channel 25 to 32 if I want to use them for recording. I just see in Auria the first 24 channels. I'm recording using 44.1 Hz And 16 bit.
Is there a way to access channels 25 to 32?
Is there a way for us to use more channels, I need a couple of additional channels to cover our full band.

Any answer will be very welcome.
Thank you!!

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Behringer X32 need help with setting up with Auria

Post by Rim » Wed Jan 01, 2014 8:37 pm

Unfortunately, Auria is limited to 24 inputs maximum. This is a limitation of the iOS USB interface.

Rim

Papoarvelo
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 9:10 pm

Re: Behringer X32 need help with setting up with Auria

Post by Papoarvelo » Sun Jan 05, 2014 10:44 pm

Hi Rim.
Thank you for the quick reply

For what I can understand, there's no way to record at any given time more than 24 channels due to an IOS limitation.

But there's nothing you can do in order for the user to be able to select which of the 32 available channels in the X32 is used in the recording? For example, if I want to use in a recording channels 1-20 and 27-30 at the same time.

Right now, I can only use channels 1-24 for recording. I have found no way to use channels 25-32.

Regards,

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Behringer X32 need help with setting up with Auria

Post by Rim » Tue Jan 07, 2014 6:53 am

This is due to the iOS limitation. iOS can't access the other channels, so there's no way to assign them.

Rim

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest