New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

For topics specifically about audio interfaces (USB, MFi, Camera Connection Kit)

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

wilfrago
Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:38 pm

New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by wilfrago » Sat Jan 12, 2013 5:53 pm

A new Focusrite USB interface, Scarlett 18i20, has been launched.

"High channel count and Focusrite quality – now on USB 2.0 and iOS"*"

Here you can see more info about the interface:
http://global.focusrite.com/usb-audio-i ... lett-18i20

*with the Camera Connection Kit.

Jus
Expert
Posts: 424
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:34 am

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by Jus » Sat Jan 12, 2013 6:11 pm

Looks Nice :) @ £399 rrp
May be a future buy
Cheers for putting this up ;)

Erik dP
Expert
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:07 am

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by Erik dP » Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:36 am

...A big selling point (or buying) for me would be if it can work as a stand alone device without the Ipad connected, as a mixer. It would be nice to be able to have everyting connected for practice while the kids steal the Ipad for Angry Birds.
Song writer http://www.youtube.com/erikdepomian
"Your Comfort Lie" "White Feather" "Canyons" "Where No Monsters Go" ...and more.

steviee8
Expert
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:51 pm

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by steviee8 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:38 pm

Just got my 18i20 today and immediately hooked it up to Auria. Now I also have the OctoPre with Dynamics and I'm able to get both working together via ADAT. I did need the BNC word clock hooked up otherwise I could here little clicks.

So for me I have an iPad 2 and couldn't get a peep or a even a crackle of noise when it was set to 96k. Auria acted real slow to the point of locking up or freezing.
My old 1818vsl I could at least get some noise (unusable noise) but the 18i20 I got nothing.
44.1 and 48k works great. I will test to see how many tracks I can arm and record when I get a chance.

My other card i have, the 18i6 I had no issues with 96k. I was hoping for the same with my 18i20. I'll have to look at the Focusrite forum to see what I find.
I'm wondering if I completely start my iPad from a fresh install and only install Auria to see if that helps. But really hate to think about that since my iPad is used for work and I need my other apps.

Thx

steviee8
Expert
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:51 pm

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by steviee8 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:59 am

Well I just realized that the 18i20 doesn't have multiple outs. The only way to get audio out is to have it set to output 1 or 2. My other outs won't do anything. Apple Ver. 6.1.2. Auria v. 1.07

Help. Or maybe it's the 18i20

Solved...
You have to plug it into your computer and run MixControl. Set all your outputs according to what you want. Apparently I had them all seeing out 1 and 2. Then hit file and "save to hardware".

Whew! I thought I was doomed.

steviee8
Expert
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:51 pm

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by steviee8 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:29 am

I just bought the new (4th gen.) iPad 32Gb .
FYI, The 18i20 still does not work at 96k.
I'm thinking its a Focusrite thing and not some app that is running in the iOS that for some reason is causing it.

I have been working on a nice routing scheme for the 18i20 utilizing the ADAT in from the OctoPre and the ADAT out of the 18i20 back into the OctoPre utilizing the direct outputs. Using the AD DA switch on the front of the OctoPre.

For those wanting to know. The OctoPre has 8 direct outs so u can use it as a simple preamp/ line driver.
There is a switch on the front, AD DA which can now route what ever is coming down the ADAT in. Hence now I can create 8mixes coming out those while still routing 8 mixes or DAW outs coming out the 18i20 outs. It seems very flexible.

You just have to build it in MixControl and click on "save to hardware"

Still tweeking.
And does anyone know of a Focusrite forum? I can't seem to find one. They don't seem to be like presonus's

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7853
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by Rim » Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:50 am

We've discovered the same thing. The 18i20 seems to have some issue that's preventing it from running at 96K on an iPad. We've contacted Focusrite about this and are waiting for a response.

Rim

steviee8
Expert
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:51 pm

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by steviee8 » Wed Apr 24, 2013 5:39 pm

I've also sent an email to their technical support and they replied saying they had recorded at 96k with their 18i20.
(I don't believe it) But I replied and gave them as much info as possible to see if they reply with any suggestions.

User avatar
deltayankee6
Expert
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:38 am

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by deltayankee6 » Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:44 am

steviee8 wrote:I've also sent an email to their technical support and they replied saying they had recorded at 96k with their 18i20.
(I don't believe it) But I replied and gave them as much info as possible to see if they reply with any suggestions.
Just received my 18i20, and agree with all comments that when used with my ipad it does naff all at 96k.
Created a new project at 48k and no probs.

User avatar
deltayankee6
Expert
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:38 am

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by deltayankee6 » Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:48 am

Still 18i20, but different question.

I'm connecting my bass amp (TC Electronic RH450) to the 18i20 via spdif.
How do I access this input through Auria?
(Sorry if that's a numpty question)

brooks501
Expert
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 9:36 am

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by brooks501 » Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:12 am

Hi

I think you have to set up the SPDIF via Mix Control on a Mac or PC, not tried it my self but here is the Focusrite vid describing setting up mix control and the routing at 5.30.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=cRbAsXtPSLE&feature=plpp

Then use the input matrix in Auria, I use the 18i20 with Auria and works a treat.

Hope it helps

User avatar
deltayankee6
Expert
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:38 am

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by deltayankee6 » Sun Jun 02, 2013 3:42 am

Thanks for the video link!

I think I've found the problem.
I can route the spdif input, but only when the 18i20 is running at 96khz.
Auria doesn't work with the 18i20 at 96khz, so I can't use the spdif input.
(Hopefully Auria and Focusrite can work together to fix this)

Just off to return my xlr to phono adaptor cable :(

brooks501
Expert
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 9:36 am

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by brooks501 » Mon Jun 03, 2013 6:14 am

Thanks for the info for future use.

peteT
Expert
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:53 am

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by peteT » Fri Jun 21, 2013 2:51 pm

Focusrite have released a new version of MixControl for the 18i20 which now allows standalone operation.
This had been previously promised and is on the Focusrite site.
The new version is 1.5

By setting the 18i20 to standalone mode using MixControl and saving the preset back to the 18i20 is this likely to solve the Auria problem whereby the 18i20 wasn't functioning on an iPad @ 96k and especially using ADAT SMUX for an external unit @ 96k.

If not hopefully Focusrite will develop an iPad App for control of the 18i20 or the 18i6 through the iPad, so that it can be preset before launching Auria (for 96k operation - apparently people report that all functions fine at 44.1 & 48k).

Anyone had any recent experience of the new update @ 96k?

User avatar
deltayankee6
Expert
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:38 am

Re: New Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Post by deltayankee6 » Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:32 am

Didn't realise there was a mix control update available. Will try that tonight and test the 96kHz issue, as well as using SPDif, with my iPad.

Some other info which I found out recently:
The rear panel of the 18i20 has combination XLR/TRS sockets (that's not the new bit!).
The circuitry inside the 18i20 detects the connector type inserted and:
- if XLR it assumes a mic input
- if TRS it assumes a line input
I don't believe there is a way to override this.

This means you can't use an XLR to TRS mic lead, or insert a line level on an XLR connector.
It also means you can't make up an XLR to TRS adaptor, and then use a TRS patch batch to access the rear connectors.
(Guess what I tried to do)

So I've had to resort to an XLR patch bay, and a TRS patch bay.
Oh we'll, I had spare slots anyway.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests