Latency Compensation for AU Insert Plugins (SOLVED in 2.23 Beta)

For bug reports only - non-bug related questions will be moved to appropriate forum.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
User avatar
-ki
Expert
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:49 pm
Location: Berlin

Latency Compensation for AU Insert Plugins (SOLVED in 2.23 Beta)

Post by -ki » Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:49 am

Auria Pro applies latency compensation to tracks with native plugins, but doesn’t do so for AU insert plugins:
F1A2BF06-D830-427E-9E1B-35D66F566DB2.jpeg
.

Regarding the topic of latency compensation: Attached you find an image testing for latency compensation with native FabFilter plugins vs AU. Since it even works when changing latency on FF Pro DS from 12ms to 15ms, i wonder why FabFilter Pro Q2 does not change its latency value when in Linear Phase mode.
Attachments
8BC08F9F-ED7E-456D-8158-4A09C95F6B2F.jpeg
Last edited by -ki on Thu Apr 11, 2019 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
richardyot
Expert
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:45 am

Re: Latency Compensation for AU Insert Plugins

Post by richardyot » Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:59 am

This is a serious bug IMO, would be good to see it fixed. Might need some contact with AU devs to see how they are passing on the latency compensation information to the host in their plugins.

User avatar
-ki
Expert
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:49 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: Latency Compensation for AU Insert Plugins

Post by -ki » Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:21 am

The retrieval of AUv3 plugins latency is standardised by Apple in the the AUv3 API,the value is found in kAudioUnitProperty_Latency

User avatar
richardyot
Expert
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:45 am

Re: Latency Compensation for AU Insert Plugins

Post by richardyot » Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:20 am

Great - the fix should hopefully be relatively straightforward then :)

User avatar
-ki
Expert
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:49 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: Latency Compensation for AU Insert Plugins

Post by -ki » Thu Apr 11, 2019 2:51 pm

I can confirm that the problem is indeed fixed in Auria Pro Beta 2.23 :D
549EC37A-640C-4D4A-A744-CE2859462EC5.jpeg

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests