How to attain right recording level

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

mdarby
Expert

How to attain right recording level

Post by mdarby » Mon Dec 03, 2012 2:49 am

Hello,

I am new to recording in general, both the DAW and the hardward sides, so please pardon the basic questions.

I am trying to record vocals and guitar parts into Auria on my iPad 2. For interfaces, I am using a recently acquired Alesis ioDock or an Apogee JAM. It seems to me my electric guitar and mic'ed acoustic guitar record fairly soft, at least judging by the waveform images relative to the demo song.

I know this is a general question, but what is the "right" level to aim for in terms of recording level / loudness? And how do I get that? Both my interfaces have gain adjustment on the hardware. I assume I should raise those to 90% or 100% of their range. But what about on the Auria side? Should I adjust before recording with the recording level, or after recording with Process Gain or Process Normalize?

Thanks for the advice!

Best,
Michael

mrufino1
Expert

Re: How to attain right recording level

Post by mrufino1 » Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:32 am