MP3 import?

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

devonair

MP3 import?

Post by devonair » Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:14 am

Forgive the potentially dumb question, but I've watched the demo video a couple of times and have browsed through this forum for a while and still haven't been able to determine if this app suits my particular use-case...

I am not a musician, but am instead a choreographer. I don't need to record music, but instead need to take my existing library of MP3's and remix individual tracks, and/or mix several tracks into a longer production. In my line of work, most people (choreographers, dancers, hobbyists) swear and live by an OLLLD and incredibly outdated Windows app named Acoustica MP3 Audio Mixer (long since replaced by it's parent company by a newer piece of software called Mixcraft... which I'm not even sure if THAT is even all that up-to-date). This software is ancient (haha, it ran great on Windows 95, and still runs great on my Macbook Pro via Parallels and an old copy of Windows. But this seems like some serious overkill to basically cut and mix MP3's, and I'd love to be able to make my mixes on the road with my iPad. Garageband has a HORRIBLE interface for this, and I'm loving the look of Auria from the videos... but does it support IMPORT of MP3's, as well as export?

The main features I'd be looking for (which are the exact features that I live by in my current old and antiquated app, as sad as this is, haha):
- native use of mp3's (without having to convert to AIFF or any other formats, since the bulk of my music is already in MP3)
- ability to pitch/speed-shift individual clips of audio in-app, on the fly, without affecting the entire project (preferably with some sort of adjustable visual on-screen aid on the audio clip)
- ability to crossfade and fade in/out individual clips of audio (again, preferably with some sort of adjustable visual on-screen aid on the audio clip)
- cut/copy/past of audio clips