Would the THM plugin be useful without a guitar?

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
ChrisG
Expert
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:27 pm

Would the THM plugin be useful without a guitar?

Post by ChrisG » Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:33 pm

I'm no guitar player, but I was wondering if the THM plug could be used to mangle up different audio tracks. I.E I have a synth lead audio copy/pasted from another app that I want to add some distortion and phaser to, would THM work for that? Or if I just wanna make a piano track sound like disted guitar for some reason. :)

Thanks, Chris.


Edit: Btw new owner of auria and I love it so far!

Iammane
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 2:12 pm

Re: Would the THM plugin be useful without a guitar?

Post by Iammane » Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:38 pm

I don't intend on running only a guitar through it ;)

ChrisG
Expert
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:27 pm

Re: Would the THM plugin be useful without a guitar?

Post by ChrisG » Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:43 am

I don't even know how to play a guitar. :oops:

Am I right in thinking THM works as a modular plugin? IE can I chain a phaser and a WhaWha effect on a single insert effect within THM? Or does that require two instances of THM?

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Would the THM plugin be useful without a guitar?

Post by Rim » Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:51 am

THM can definitely be used without a guitar. It has amps, cabinets, effects "racks" and pedals which all run simultaneously.

Rim

ChrisG
Expert
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:27 pm

Re: Would the THM plugin be useful without a guitar?

Post by ChrisG » Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:59 am

Thanks. Sounds great. Will be my next purchase then. :)

User avatar
Trueyorky
Expert
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:40 pm

Re: Would the THM plugin be useful without a guitar?

Post by Trueyorky » Mon Aug 06, 2012 7:04 am

Good shout Chris. I've just processed several tracks through THM and it adds really good presence. Sounds great.

I hope a future update will give us more automation.

ChrisG
Expert
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:27 pm

Re: Would the THM plugin be useful without a guitar?

Post by ChrisG » Mon Aug 06, 2012 12:53 pm

Ok so I just bought THM and the Pro Q EQ. For anyone reading THM is definatly useful even if you don't play guitar. For $20 you get a whole bunch of effects (reverb, phaser, whawha, p.eq, distortions and mucho more) plus amps and so on. It's really fun mixing together different setups inside THM, you can get some really messed up (in a good way) sound from that lame flute track. :twisted:

ProQ..have only tried it briefly. It's awesome to work on with a touch interface tho.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests