Using effects/plugins (total NOOB question - sorry)

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Trash
Expert

Using effects/plugins (total NOOB question - sorry)

Post by Trash » Fri Jul 20, 2018 8:46 am

I think it is time I asked some dumb questions to try to clarify some concepts I have never really got me hear around.

The main problem I have with software based recording (as opposed to my old hard disk based and before that cassette based setups) is that I really understand plugins.

To help me clarify my understanding of how these work in Auria can anyone help with answers to the following questions:

1 if I use a Chorus effect on a track can I use the chorus on a different track simultaneously but with different settings or is the Chorus effect tied to that track (in the same way it would be if I was using a physical chorus pedal.

2 - I'm thinking of investing in ProQ (although I am still investigating how much I would actually use it). Similarly to question 1 is it possible to use Pro Q to process separate tracks in different ways simultaneously

3 - Part of my confusion comes from some behaviour that I reported a while back:
I had used an effect setup called "Clean Guitar" on a previous guitar track (track 3) and wanted to use a slight variation on a subsequent guitar track (track 6). I hadn't realised that editing the "Clean Guitar" setup for the new track (track 6) would also alter the previously recorded guitar track (recorded on track 3).

Which tends to suggest that a plugin effect is like a physical effect and can't be used with different settings on more than one track at once - but that doesnt seem to agree with other things I have seen around (and unfortunately all the literature seems to assume a basic knowledge of DAWs).

4 - Last point -
Do Auria's built-in plugins /effects behave the same way as third-party ones with regards to the questions above?

So confused...