Insert for hardware effects?

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

murmichel

Insert for hardware effects?

Post by murmichel » Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:22 pm

Hello, I'm new here, I'm new to Auria, and I'm new to DAWs in general. I think/hope that I understand the concepts, but I'm not at all familiar with the details.

Among other things, I'd like to use Auria to record my electric cello. In particular, I'd like to record the raw, unprocessed sound through a preamp and interface (iConnectAudio4+). Effects I want to apply in a further step from within Auria. All this is more or less straightforward. However, I'd like to use the same hardware effects that I use to play through an amp.

That's where things become complicated. I see that Auria provides software insert effects and I think there's a plugin interface, too. What I don't see is a way to break out from software and route through "real" hardware effects. Ideally with delay compensation. How can I do this?

Thanks for your time.

Murmichel

wigglelights
Expert

Re: Insert for hardware effects?

Post by wigglelights » Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:00 pm

I'd recommend doing your send to your external fx through the iCA4;
Presuming your instrument is in input one - use iConfig to route that input to both an iPad input as well as one of the iCA4 outs. Plug that out into your fx, and the fx's out into the next iCA4 input. Route that input to another iPad in via iConfig.
In Auria, you should have two inputs available now, one clean and one from the fx unit. Create two tracks using those inputs and you're in business.

FYI, it could be possible to route through Auria, but you would find it would add latency. The hardware routing should give you a clean very low latency result.

HTH

murmichel

Post by murmichel » Thu Jan 18, 2018 3:31 am