Polarity switch

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
superhunter2
Expert
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 11:48 am

Polarity switch

Post by superhunter2 » Wed Oct 14, 2015 6:14 pm

Hey guys, I'm stumped again. I'm comping some drum tracks together and came across an issue. I used two mics per take, a kick and an overhead. Say track 1 and 2 are in phase but I added tracks 3 and 4 to them which are out of phase because the one mic got moved a little on the second take. I was to reverse the polarity on just a section of track 3 to be in phase with track 4 so I can comp then with 1 and 2. Can you reverse the polarity on a region or does it have to be a whole track? Thanks guys!

King
Expert
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 1:06 pm

Re: Polarity switch

Post by King » Wed Oct 14, 2015 6:40 pm

Hey superhunter2,

Have you tried Automation?
_____________________________1 Luv_____________________________

_____________________________King____________________________

_____________________Audiobus Forum KING777_____________________

superhunter2
Expert
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 11:48 am

Re: Polarity switch

Post by superhunter2 » Wed Oct 14, 2015 9:57 pm

How would you automate a polarity switch?

King
Expert
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 1:06 pm

Re: Polarity switch

Post by King » Wed Oct 14, 2015 10:09 pm

superhunter2 wrote:How would you automate a polarity switch?
Underneath where you select the colours on the edit page, click on "Audio" then select "Phase" then draw where you want the switch to turn on and where you want it to turn off.

Or simply set the track for write mode (W) and click the polarity switch when you like.

Your welcome!
_____________________________1 Luv_____________________________

_____________________________King____________________________

_____________________Audiobus Forum KING777_____________________

User avatar
martygras
Expert
Posts: 709
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 10:03 am

Re: Polarity switch

Post by martygras » Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:26 am

I was going to suggest that you separate out the area you want to reverse phase on and move it to a neighboring track to reverse. Then do a mixdown of those 2 tracks.
Marty Schulte [I'm a drummer. So, there's that.]
iPad AIR(128), Akai EIE, Akai EWI USB, illudium q-36 explosive space modulator
Head First Audio (live sound for Southern Oregon, USA)

superhunter2
Expert
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 11:48 am

Re: Polarity switch

Post by superhunter2 » Thu Oct 15, 2015 10:54 am

Both would work great and makes sense. Thanks again

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 5 guests