v1.151 submitted to Apple today

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

v1.151 submitted to Apple today

Post by Rim » Thu Jul 03, 2014 2:57 pm

This will fix the following issues:

- Fixed issue with Delete Automation on Track
- Fixed issue with Auria muting output when using audiobus with an Aux or Subgroup output
- Fixed issue with freezing mono tracks when an IAA plugin is inserted
- Fixed import issue when importing audio for video
- Fixed Apple Loops issue and timestrecthing when importing loops
- Fixed issue with international characters causing problems with Audio Copy/Paste
- Fixed issue with removing an IAA plugin and the previous plugin getting re-enabled
- Fixed IAA issue with mono tracks when closing the plugin outside of Auria.


Rim

tea
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 6:48 pm

Re: v1.151 submitted to Apple today

Post by tea » Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:53 pm

Thank you :D

triunionstation
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:51 pm

Re: v1.151 submitted to Apple today

Post by triunionstation » Sat Jul 05, 2014 8:19 pm

Thanks, Rim.

MikeDee
Expert
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:58 am

Re: v1.151 submitted to Apple today

Post by MikeDee » Mon Jul 07, 2014 7:53 am

Thank you so much, Rim! Better & better.... :D

Best regards,

Mike E. Dee

dominicperry
Expert
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 2:35 pm

Re: v1.151 submitted to Apple today

Post by dominicperry » Wed Jul 09, 2014 9:13 am

Thanks Rim.

Assuming (perhaps incorrectly) that this is the last of the bug-fix updates before the big new update with extra features, is there any chance that you can arrange for users to have BOTH the old 1.151 and the new 1.2/2.0 version installed? I realise this isn't how iOS normally works, but when I was Beta testing MT DAW, I was able to have two versions installed. Maybe there would have to be some clever 'Restore Purchase' feature on Auria 2.0 to allow both old and new to be working side by side.
I'd love to try out the new features of the new version, but in reality, there will be some teething problems as there always are with new features. In the mean time I'd like to keep the excellent, stable and bug-free 1.151 running for day to day work. With a PC or Mac, this is easy. For iOS, the implication is that it's impossible, but is it really? Your thoughts would be appreciated. It would be a big step forward for the iOS world if you could somehow manage this.

Dominic

User avatar
Anthony Alves
Expert
Posts: 1199
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:52 am

Re: v1.151 submitted to Apple today

Post by Anthony Alves » Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:01 pm

From my Beta testing experience I believe the difference is that the Beta you tested for MTDaw was not from apples app store but rather sent through a beta channel like Test Flight. At least that is my understanding. If there is something different that Rim knows than that would be cool to keep working versions while trying out the new one. Cheers.~~_/)~~~*

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: v1.151 submitted to Apple today

Post by Rim » Wed Jul 09, 2014 8:22 pm

There's no way to do this in iOS and still keep an upgrade path from one version to the next. Would be nice, but only beta systems like test flight/ hockeyapp permit what you're describing.

Rim

garyshell
Expert
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:06 pm

Re: v1.151 submitted to Apple today

Post by garyshell » Sat Jul 12, 2014 12:23 am

What about the master strip automation issues? Did those get in the release?

Gary

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests