Is 16GB iPad enough? HELP

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

JoeyOz

Is 16GB iPad enough? HELP

Post by JoeyOz » Sun Dec 29, 2013 11:07 pm

Hi, I just bought a 16GB iPad Mini Retina that I plan to run Auria with Apogee Duet. Will 16GB be enough??

I will only be recording vocals over instrumentals if that makes any difference.

Thank you for any help in this matter, I cant seem to find any good answers on the web.

supanorton
Expert

Re: Is 16GB iPad enough? HELP

Post by supanorton » Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:15 am

16 gigs will be fine as long as you don't mind backing up to a computer every so often. I have a 64 gig iPad 2, and Auria is currently using 16.5 gigs. I've usually got about 15 projects with anywhere from 8-20 tracks apiece in Auria. I've also got a few folders of drum loops as well. I have several other music/recording apps that take up another 12 or 13 gigs.

I'm just a hobbyist, working on mostly originals, recording a few nights per week. I have to back projects up to my computer and external hard drives about once per month to keep at least 10 gigs of free space on my iPad. That's just a random number I decided on. I'm not sure if there's a recommended free space "safe zone".

It really depends on how much you plan on doing. If you don't mind backing up, which you should do anyway, it's not really a big deal. It's very easy to back up Auria projects to a computer with a program called ifunbox, just drag and drop. Hope this helps.

Guilleonline
Expert

Post by Guilleonline » Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:11 am

Get a 32gb if you can afford it. Obviously you'll be running other apps and honetly as they get better they est more space. As far as Auria i had many sections to a single song and well, I had less than 1gb available. Even with 32gb you have to backup as you go. So 32gb and up if possible. If not then be ready to be backing up after each project and making space in your dropbox every now and then.

ppaul
Expert