Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
ttaylorsaxe
Expert
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:59 am

Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by ttaylorsaxe » Sat Dec 14, 2013 1:45 pm

Hi All,

I'm working on a stereo wave file 24 48. I'm trying to dial in the EQ with Pro Q and it crashes or freezes almost constantly when I change settings or use the analyzer. MY CPU never goes over 30 and I can't figure out why this keeps happening. I'm on an iPad 4 with ample space free. When this happens, everything freezes and I've got to close out Auria completely.

Anybody else experiencing this ?

Thanks,
T

User avatar
richardyot
Expert
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:45 am

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by richardyot » Sat Dec 14, 2013 2:35 pm

This happens to me as well, especially if I enable the analyser. It happens almost every time I use Pro Q.

Ipad 4 64GB with plenty of free space.

ttaylorsaxe
Expert
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:59 am

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by ttaylorsaxe » Sat Dec 14, 2013 2:41 pm

Well, that's "good" to know. Thanks for verifying!

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8376
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by Rim » Sat Dec 14, 2013 3:10 pm

Fabfilter is aware of the problem, and they will address it in the next update. It happens in iOS7 if you leave the spectrum analyzer on for too long.

Rim

supanorton
Expert
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 1:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by supanorton » Sat Dec 14, 2013 3:55 pm

iOS 7 has put a real damper on my entire workflow with Auria and my iPad 2. Seriously considering a new laptop instead of another iPad. Too unpredictable. I really regret updating.

Phil999
Expert
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by Phil999 » Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:25 pm

hm, haven't worked lately with Auria and Pro-Q. In pre-iOS7 times such things never occurred.

Thanks for reporting!

ttaylorsaxe
Expert
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:59 am

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by ttaylorsaxe » Sat Dec 14, 2013 9:26 pm

Well, Rim, that actually IS good to know!

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8376
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by Rim » Sun Dec 15, 2013 6:38 am

Yep, there's an old thread about this already. I've let FabFilter know and they said they're working on an update.

Rim

MikeDee
Expert
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:58 am

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by MikeDee » Mon Dec 16, 2013 11:55 am

Happens in iOS 6.1.3 (on an iPad 4) as well...not limited to iOS 7.

Airyck
Expert
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 5:04 pm

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by Airyck » Mon Dec 16, 2013 4:56 pm

Curious, how do IAP updates happen? Does it have to wait until Auria is updated as well? Does it happen automatically? Are you notified somehow?

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8376
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by Rim » Tue Dec 17, 2013 10:20 am

MikeDee, OK, thanks for letting me know, I'll pass that along.

IAPs can only be added with a new app version. This is how Apple's model works. All IAPs are already built into the app, and purchasing one just unlocks it.

If you subscribe to our email list, we'll let you know as soon as we release a new version.

Thanks,
Rim

Croc59
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 6:41 pm

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by Croc59 » Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:55 am

Same thing is happening to me. It's not just Pro-Q though, everytime I try and use Pro-DS everything freezes and I have to close Auria. This is with less than 25% CPU.
Very frustrating as I've only experienced this problem since I purchased the 2 fabfilters (Pro-Q and Pro-DS), and cannot use them at all.

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8376
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by Rim » Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:58 am

This bug affects all Fabfilter plugins which use a spectrum analyzer. I let them know about this, and I assume they are working to fix it.

Rim

pipo79
Expert
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri May 10, 2013 1:08 am

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by pipo79 » Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:17 pm

wanna be on that email list (pro q bug)
knappomat@gmail.com

I got that right that all I have to do then is to "restore" my IAP ?

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8376
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Pro Q Crashes/Freezes Often

Post by Rim » Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:29 pm

Once they fix this, I will add it to the next Auria update, and all you'll need to do is update Auria to see the fix.

Rim

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests