IAA sequencing via BM2 is awesome....

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
Dave Magoo
Expert
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:47 am

IAA sequencing via BM2 is awesome....

Post by Dave Magoo » Fri Nov 08, 2013 3:58 pm

I have been looking for an all round solution for a while and tonight I was experimenting with the following setup which works great on iPad 4.....I would love to know how well it performs on iPad Air......

1/ Start Audiobus making sure its 512 frames.
2/ Launch Auria in output slot.
3/ Launch BM2 in input slot.
4/ Setup channel 1 & 2 in BM2 as Drum Machine.
5/ Add a new track in Auria and launch an IAA app such as ISEM.
6/ Launch a Keyboard Sampler track in BM2 with an 'Empty Preset'.
7/ Setup the midi to control ISEM from BM2 in the above track.
8/ Configure Auria & BM2's midi so Auria's transport and clock control BM2's.

With the above setup you can record midi into the tracks in BM2 and use the Audiobus side panel to start playback using Auria's transport controls whilst still in BM2.

Once you have some melodies and drums you can add more IAA synths etc as above (steps 5 to 7) CPU and Memory permitting !

You can also use Auria's excellent effects to craft the sounds further.....

Let me know if anyone tries this on iPad Air as I max out with the following playing together....on iPad 4......

Audiobus
Auria
BM2 x 2 Drum machines / Microwave /
ISEM / Aufx Space
Alchemy / Pro Q
Nlog / Aufx Dub
Nave
Pro C
Pro L

This has to be the best setup I have found to work yet on IOS and everything saves and reloads with the exception of Alchemy which is a bit dodgy anyhow......definetly hope its a dream setup on iPad Air.

Dave Magoo
Expert
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:47 am

Re: IAA sequencing via BM2 is awesome....

Post by Dave Magoo » Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:52 am

With this setup in mind is it possible to use and record automation without an actual audio track ? So the automation is purely controlling the effects on the live audio only ?

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 7854
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: IAA sequencing via BM2 is awesome....

Post by Rim » Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:58 am

In Auria, automation is independent of audio tracks, so that should be possible.

Rim

hotlipslawson
Expert
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 1:04 pm

Re: IAA sequencing via BM2 is awesome....

Post by hotlipslawson » Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:26 pm

Sorry if I'm posting this question in the wrong place....

I want to get back into some sequencing again, so can anyone suggest a sequencing app for IOS, which will work well with Auria? For what it's worth, I have an iPad 3.

My primary intent is to load midi sequences I already have, then assign high quality sounds. Will that mean a library of sounds app, plus a sequencer app?

I am much less a wire-head and more a musician so I am hoping to find something very intuitive like Auria. Thanx

Checkrath
Expert
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 2:34 pm

Re: IAA sequencing via BM2 is awesome....

Post by Checkrath » Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:35 am

This last month ive given Cubasis a good go wrt sequencing. Usability is great but the app has some serious issues. I'm back to using BM2 as it's the most powerful ios sequencer out there IMO

jfu222
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 7:22 am

Re: IAA sequencing via BM2 is awesome....

Post by jfu222 » Sun Dec 08, 2013 8:32 am

Thanks for the tip. I've been able to do everything listed here, but can't figure out how to synch recording of midi in BM2 and the audio in Auria at the same time.

I thought I had the match settings correct but now I am not sure. Or is it not possible?

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 8 guests