MIDI Resolution PPQ

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

Post Reply
fled
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 10:06 am

MIDI Resolution PPQ

Post by fled » Wed Jun 01, 2016 10:35 am

Hello everyone, I am interested on Auria Pro and trying to find out its MIDI resolution PPQ. I downloaded the manual and searched the forum and did not find the information. I appreciate any help! Thanks, -Fled

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8280
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: MIDI Resolution PPQ

Post by Rim » Wed Jun 01, 2016 5:10 pm

Auria's native MIDI resolution is 960,000 PPQN.

Rim

fled
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 10:06 am

Re: MIDI Resolution PPQ

Post by fled » Thu Jun 02, 2016 7:27 am

Rim wrote:Auria's native MIDI resolution is 960,000 PPQN.
Rim
Thanks Rim for the information!

dendy
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:34 pm

Re: MIDI Resolution PPQ

Post by dendy » Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:34 pm

Hello,

found this topic during searching info about PPQN in various iOS DAWs.. this number looks strange to me, it is really 960000 or "just" 960 ? That zeros are decimal places or thousands ??

thanks for reply

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8280
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: MIDI Resolution PPQ

Post by Rim » Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:19 pm

No, it's really 960,000. Large PPQN numbers allow for sample accurate MIDI editing.

Rim

dendy
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:34 pm

Re: MIDI Resolution PPQ

Post by dendy » Sun Jan 27, 2019 1:38 am

wow !! ok thanks for info

Ciro824
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 6:25 am

Re: MIDI Resolution PPQ

Post by Ciro824 » Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:27 pm

That may be the native resolution, but when editing a midi note we have to work within 480 ppq. Not complaining, that’s the best ppq of any iOS daw by far!

Espiegel123
Expert
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:56 pm

Re: MIDI Resolution PPQ

Post by Espiegel123 » Sat Sep 07, 2019 12:00 am

Ciro824 wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:27 pm
That may be the native resolution, but when editing a midi note we have to work within 480 ppq. Not complaining, that’s the best ppq of any iOS daw by far!
Why do you say that AP has to use 480 ppq for its internal note timing? Do you have evidence for this?

It is possible for sequencers to have internal resolution that is higher than standard midi.

It might be lost on exporting as MIDI but it is possible for internal timing to be sample accurate. I haven't personally confirmed that AP does, but I have no reason to doubt RIM.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests